2018-02-24: Sun's Out, Guns Out

in #photography6 years ago

Shallow Thoughts

After a full week of cloudy skies, thunder, lightning, and torrential rain, the sun FINALLY came out today. I couldn't resist snapping a pic of today's glorious sunset, it felt like so long since I had seen one:

sunset.jpg

Tomorrow the sun will be out all day in full force, and I'll be finding a permanent home for this little guy:

husky_red.jpg

Husky Red looks like he misses the sun even more than I do, can't wait to get him in the dirt.

Deep Thoughts

I use Twitter as a primary news source. . . I don't really have the time or inclination to check news sites, so I follow a couple journalists and a couple academics/celebrities that keep me abreast of things that are interesting to me. I also follow a couple people that I would probably disagree with 75% of the time, but it keeps my feed from looking like an echo chamber.

That being said, I had to unfollow a couple people today because they are touting the NRA's "arm the teachers" narrative as a solution to school shootings in America. Public school teachers in the US barely receive sufficient resources and training to educate students - there is no reason they should be saddled with the stress of weapons training and a mandate to confront an active shooter. The "good guy with a gun" narrative has already been debunked by 4 idle police officers staying outside the Marjory Stoneman Douglas school building during the shooting spree. It just makes no sense whatsoever, and I can't believe anyone with any power is even considering the idea. I think Samuel L. Jackson put it much more eloquently than I can:

Bonus Thoughts

When life gives you rain, put on your boots and splash in the puddles with a smile on your face:

IMG_3042.gif

I'm so glad my girls got to enjoy this!

Daily Stats

Cash: 13.2%
Core: 75.2%
Explore: 11.6%
Workout: 40min dog walk
Alcohol: Sam Adams Kellerbier
Supplements: Zinc 20mg, Magnesium 300mg
Sleep: midnight to 6:00am, 5 woke up early

654|53

Sort:  

Finally rains stopping..!

that golden sunset is amazing...! 🌞

That "arm the teachers" policy will create total massacre in the society..!

teacher's cant be the one who had to defend in such situations.
i dnt think u can rely on a highschool teacher's shooting ability against a organized crime like 'mass shooting' ..!
law enforcement agencies are trained to do this job, not the teachers..!😕

God bless us all..!!
~Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

kami sudah upvote @grolelo kunjungi juga post kami @pro-steemit

very nice photography of my friends

Tomato plants are very fertile ,, plants desperately need sun.saya is also very fond of sunset ..
You are very lucky to have a beautiful daughter

Unfortunately I didn't have time to get my tomato in the ground today, hopefully I can find some time tomorrow!

Welcome to the warmth of the sun. Hope you are happy with family there. I saw the kids playing with crystal clear water very happily. We are here in hot weather and looking forward to the rain. Good luck always for you @grolelo.

A very interesting post, you and your family must really enjoy the sunny weather today, because how many long heavy rain and lightning. I see A very beautiful sunset over there, have a good day this is bright, May the day you are always happy with family, I was touched to see the joy of the child playing. Success is always for you @grolelo😊

Thank you very much!

You are welcome @grolelo😊

Nice photography. Kids are looking cute splashing water. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59