Volcano Erupting - Pictures of La Erupcion de Volcan Calbuco (Life in Chile Series No. 3)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

Hey Steemians!  I have some amazing photos of a crazy event that happened in our back yard.  This actually happened on April 22, 2015 and what a crazy day that was.

All of these photos are taken from my patio and all shot with my Nikon D5300, except for the one of my camera, por supuesto (of course).  All content is mine and original.   

Ok, I'll be honest, I posted some of these photos once before, but no one, and I mean no one viewed that post, seriously, I only got 3 votes.  And really, I didn't have a clue what I was doing (as if I do now).  

Ok, as the title says, this is Volcan Calbuco (Cal boo ko).  It is located in Region 10 of Chile near the towns of Puerto Montt and Puerto Varas.  All these shots are taken from Puerto Varas.

It was a crazy day for my family.  None of us had ever seen anything like this.  Maybe, a once in a lifetime event.   The eruption started around 5pm that day.

In the picture above, there's another volcano on the left, Volcan Osorno.  Fortunately, that one has not erupted yet.

The first eruption was at 5 and continued until after sunset.

Then, around 1 a.m., the second eruption.  The pic above and below are of the second eruption.

This event is really simply told with pictures.  You know that one pic, thousand words thing.  But, if you have any questions about this, please comment and I'll do my best to answer.

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to follow me. This is also my second post where I am clicking "Pay me 100% in Steem Power." I'll let you know how it turns out.


Sort:  

Wow! What an awesome experience... Do you guys feel or hear the eruption?? Did ash cover where you were?

Great questions. The first eruption during daylight, no, we did not hear anything, however, the one at about 1 a.m., we heard like a low roar. It was like the earth was moaning. Fortunately, no, we did not get any ash. The wind shifted and most of the ash was blown into Argentina which is very close. The town of Ensenada, which is at the base on the North East side of the volcano did get a lot of ash. Again, thank you for your questions.

my sincere greeting beautiful photographs

Thank you for the compliment of the photos

Thank you very much

Yup, these definitely deserve more then 3 votes!

thank you for reading my post. I hope you found it worth while.

Nature is always impressive but volcanoes... well... they are amazing.

you are correct, amazing. Thank you for commenting

WOW, those volcano photos are awesome, I would have ran though.
💋 @halo 💋😇

we kind of ran around the house like crazy. We filled all of the bath tubs with water in case we lost power. It was crazy. An event we will never forget

Awesome pictures. Thanks.

De nada. You are welcome. Thank you for commenting

what a beauty!!!

thank you for commenting

Oh wow, how did you know it was happening? Did you see it first or did you hear it first?

We saw it first. It is in our view from all the windows on the backside of our house. My grandmother was actually the first one to see it and with her loud reaction, we all saw it within seconds. We really did not hear anything until that night during the second eruption. Thank you so much for comenting

Nice pics. I hope to make it down to region X one of these days.

Let me know when you do and maybe we can meet up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65