Trek to Mt Everest Base camp in Nepal

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I am going to do a photo diary of my trip to Nepal, climbing to Mount Everest Base camp.
Here is a sample of the pictures, and amazing scenery we encountered along the way.

The picture above is myself admiring the stunning mountains in Nepal.

The scenery here is just so huge, that even pictures let alone words can't do it justice. This image is a panorama if 5 images stitched together. When viewed full res on a large TV, you can really zoom in, and pan around to see stuff that is hidden on this format. Just amazing!

This is one of my favourites. All the way up to the base camp, people are living, scratching out an existence. They have to do their laundry and dry it just like everyone else (at least I still dry mine on a line outside, as I'm too poor to pay for the power here at home).

This picture was in Kathmandu while we were preparing for the ascent. I noticed that women were throwing insense into this big cauldron, and enjoying the smoke that eminated from it. I dunno, but I still think of witchcraft when I see this photo...

We did eventually make it to Base Camp#1, and flew our little flag to celebrate with the prayer flags that are strewn all over the landscape. I was a bit worried that it may be "insensitive", but our local guides said that it was just fine.

On the way to the top, there are a lot of other things to do and see too. These Monks are checking out the menu of the local restaurant (vegetarian I'm sure), before ordering their lunch.

If you like, please upvote and follow me,  as I am new and still figuring it all out.
BTW, feel free to comment if I am doing something wrong, as I want to learn more about how to do this without annoying people.


Thanks

Greg

Sort:  

Congratulations @gregauckland! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44