Sort:  

Ooooh! Bummer! How did that happen? I get some weird signals too. It can't autofocus when I am too close to an object and it won't let me take a shot. But that doesn't happen with manual focus on...

It seems that auto focus is not your problem... any camera lens has a minimum focus distance which is related also to the focal length. In your kit lens the minimum focal distance seems to be 25cm at 18mm so if you are in auto mode it will start blinking to highlight that you are out of focus. In Manual you are still out of focus but the camera will let you take the photo :).
If you need to go very close to an object you may need a macro lens, or close up filter which are cheaper! Enjoy your camera and give us some more stories!

Να'σαι καλα ρε φωτογραφε μας που μας δινεις τα φωτα σου! (Η μανταμ Ρουθ ειναι ψιλο-χοντρο-ασχετη κ περιμενει το καλοκαιρι να κανει κανενα σεμιναριο να μαθει τιποτα χρησιμο)

My kit came with an 18-55 and a 55-200. The thing is, I even got that no-focusing thing when I had faces about half a metre (or more) in front of me. And I got it with both lenses in different situations...
Thanks for the help! ;)

για αυτό έχουμε το steemit να μοιραζόμαστε πληροφορία! Στον 55-200 αλλάζουν τα πράγματα είναι πάνω από 1m!
check here για τον 55-200 και here για τον 18-55!

Αααα, ευχαριστω! Θα τα κοιταξω!!

I'm suspecting the friend tried to turn the lens when it was in auto mode. Either that or it somehow fell to the ground or something.
Mine never gave any issue till a friend borrowed it and returned it. Didn't use it for like a month and when I tried found out I've lost the autofocus function

I see (I have tried to turn the focus ring while in auto mode, especially in the beginning when I was not very familiar with all the buttons and functions, but the problem occurred recently. I think I will just drop by the place were I get my photos developed to ask the photographer there).

Have you tried asking anyone that knows about cameras?

Yes, I did but I never took it there. It was over the phone. The person was suspecting that there was an issue with the micro stepper motor that control the movement of the lens as it adjusts automatically. Never had time to take it to the vendor. I'm even thinking of upgrading the stock lens to something with more depth of field(bokeh) effect.

I see...
Once you make sure it's the lense and not the body, I'd say go ahead :)
Hope you got this figured out soon! :D

I'd have to check with other lens to be sure it's the lens before upgrading. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47