Went For The Stars But Got Northern Light Instead

in #photography6 years ago

About a week ago I felt frustrated because this long-lasting darkness season is taking a toll on me. I can't do what I love doing, means no time for photographing because of its constantly dark outside when I'm free. I go to work when the sun rises and come back in the dark. I'm a late night person and obviously want to sleep in the morning so its a no go for me to wake very early and go out taking photos before work, although I really should do that sometimes.

BAck to the topic, I felt bad and wanted to take some photos. I decided to drive on a field to simply take some shots of the stars and see what I got. I didn't expect anything good because my home area is not that dark, therefore not a suitable place for astrophotography. While taking some shots I saw something in the northern sky. It was this strange smooth mass of something. Looked like some kind of clouds but I wasn't sure. I took a photo in that direction and there you go, green on the camera screen. I had no idea what I'm going to see aurora on that evening. My mood instantly went good and I had a subject to take photos of. A little after my eyes got getting used to the darkness I started to see these northern light by the naked eye as well( or they became stronger ). I was pretty amazed to see them because light pollution was awful at that place. Usually, when I know there are northern lights I go somewhere with a good view to the north and where is total darkness.

DSC_0289.jpg


DSC_0288.jpg

I tried to play a little with my phone flashlight and get myself on a photo as well, do something I dont usually.

DSC_0296.jpg

While I was taking long exposure photos some dude decided to drive on that field too and ruin my photo. Still, I liked something about that shot and decided to keep it.

DSC_0293.jpg

Do you see northern lights in your area ?




Untitled-4.png

Sort:  

nope, in our area we do not have aurora lights, it's really a shame. :)
it's been a few decades since I've seen some.

these colors though looks rich and awesome.
although last photo - was that a UFO or just a car spotlights? :D

Oh oke. This was just car lights. Didnt get so lucky to capture UFO this time :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79