Spending A Day At Arctic Beach

in #photography6 years ago

Over the last couple of weeks, we have been experiencing some extremely cold temperatures outside. At times temperature dropped as low as -27 degrees Celsius (-16.6 F ) in Estonia. This cold creates many different kinds of beauty subjects I can photograph outside. Last weekend I decided to go to the beach near my home and see if sea water is starting to get frozen.
Title of the post is a little clickbait because this beach is not in the Arctic region. Estonia is not in north enough to belong in the arctic circle. Still, it definitely looks like arctic so it was not a total lie :D

The front part of the bay was frozen and it was thick enough to walk on, except some places where the river flows under the ice, not a great idea to walk on it, my girlfriend got to experience this first hand.
Weather was perfect. Light snow was falling and it was also clear enough at the same time for the sun to shine. Here are some of the photos I took there at the weekend.

DSC_0548.jpg


DSC_0513.jpg


DSC_0542.jpg


DSC_0543.jpg


DSC_0549.jpg

I also needed to capture a photo for the Estonian photo contest I am participating this year. The subject this time was a portrait of a woman. So I planted my GF on a chunk of ice and took some photos of her.

DSC_0515.jpg


DSC_0537.jpg

I took tens and tens of photos like this of her but the chosen one in the end, was the one below. Yellow eyes and the sunset on one photo.

DSC_05632.jpg

Now back to the nature...

DSC_0550.jpg


DSC_0552.jpg


DSC_0553.jpg


DSC_0560.jpg

Am I the only one who thinks that this photo of the sunset, high coast and sea ice looks like a flag of some country?

DSC_0565.jpg




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

Wow, fantastic photos!!! Our sea was frozen, but now the temperature is +1, I think it starts to melt...

Thanx! It is -2 At the moment. I hope the cold lasts another 2 weeks so I can go mountain skiink in fresh snow in February

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=spending-a-day-at-arctic-beach


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #422 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56832.31
ETH 2344.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43