Northern Lights Are Playing Again

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Like usual I had no idea that its possible to see northern lights that evening( 7 October ). That until the app Aurora notified me that it is possible today. Usually, when this app notifies me, I check how big is the solar activity at the time, see some Swedish and Finnish live cameras, watch some live maps and then I decide if its worth a drive to a dark location.

After doing all mentioned above, I concluded that I might see something pretty nice right now. There was one big problem, it was kinda cloudy at the time but the local weather channel said it should clear out later up. I waited about 20 minutes and decided to go out and see if there are still clouds. I did and I saw something near the horizon. I barely could see some color and I thought it was green so I ran back home to bring a camera to confirm my suspicions. I took a random long exposure sky shot and saw that there really is green.

After 2 minutes I was in a car and driving towards the beach that is 10 kilometers away that is pretty much really dark location. Moreover, this location faces straight to the north so I could everything northern lights are doing on the horizon.

DSC_0025.jpg

Long story short. It was fuckin amazing what I saw! Yes, I know its nothing amazing for people who live in northern Scandinavia, Iceland or Canada but in Estonia to see them so brightly even with my pure eyes its kind of rare.

I could see very clearly how those lights danced in front of me and sometimes changed color to purple.

DSC_0024.jpg


DSC_0032.jpg


DSC_0033.jpg

I hope I get to capture some more northern lights soon enough! It should be solar minimum cycle right now but there is still a good chance to see them. After all its a dark period now.

DSC_0041.jpg


DSC_0045.jpg

Have you ever seen northern lights yourself?




Sort:  

I've never seen Northern Lights before, although I've lived in Northern Estonia my whole life. Besides, with no car nor driving skills, I guess it's difficult to squeeze any bit of northern lights to see in the city, haha.

Well yeah, when you are in a city, you really need to know when to look up because its hard to see them. At least in Estonia. I bet you would have seen october 7th northern lights because they were so intense. But yep, is always wise to find a way to a dark location to REALLY see them.

Thanks for these pics...I love looking at the clouds; and, appreciate these photos because I've never seen northern lights...yet...

The first two pics look like a furry dog eating out of a bowl...on the right side of the screen...dog facing west....

The 3rd and 4th pics look like a bride with a huge train on her dress handing a platter of something...the bride's hands are lifted on right side of screen...she is facing east...

In the 5th pic, I see a huge rifle...center of screen...aiming eastward...

That's it...

Peace.

Haha, these are some interesting comparisions right here :D

Were you able to capture a glimpse of what I saw?

Peace.

I really tried, I promise but no I wasnt able to see what you saw :D

Lol!!! If I had the skills, I'd do a snapshot and do an outline in photoshop..

Peace.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=northern-lights-are-playing-again


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

good photography in night

They are always amazing to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74