Chasing Extreme Cold Temperatures

in #photography5 years ago

Yes, as the title says, I went after the very cold temperatures. Why anyone should do it? I don't have a good explanation for you. A little more than a week ago very cold temperatures were expected and I decided to experience it the fullest. It's not every day we get to feel temperatures as low as this. I live in northern Estonia, on the border of the capital Tallinn. Weather Channel didn't predict very low numbers to Tallinn, only about -15 degrees Celsius ( 5F ) so I decided to drive where its the lowest. After looking radars and different weather information I knew where I needed to go. Only 60 kilometers away should be the coldest place in Estonia so I was lucky I didn't have to drive hundreds of kilometers instead.

DSC_0497.jpg

These are the photos I took at my destination where we reached as low as -26C ( -14.8F ) temperature wise. I forgot to bring my gloves so I had to operate my camera barehanded, no need to say it was a little painful. Cold like this brings out beautiful sceneries and weather phenomenon, like these beautiful cloud/fog layers you can see on the photos.

DSC_0488.jpg

It may look like its bright outside, there wasn't actually. All the photos are long exposure ones. If you wonder why are there so huge shadows everywhere than this is the really bright full moon.
I took my water bottle from the car and left it on the roof for a while. After 15 minutes water started to freeze inside.

DSC_0490.jpg


At some point, I did a stupid mistake. I grabbed my metal tripod barehanded... I burned my hand. It's a cold burn and hurts exactly the same as with fire. Don't ever do that if your tripod is at somewhere as cold as -26C. ![DSC_0495.jpg]()

DSC_0498.jpg

After staying there for about a half an hour, I and my friend started to feel really cold and decided to wrap things up.
As we turned around and started to drive back I decided to take a couple of more shots of the frozen trees and bushes. Light comes from the car headlights.

DSC_0503.jpg


DSC_0504.jpg.




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

The fourth and fifth photos are awesome! The cloud of fog above the field is amazing...

Yes, this is a cool phenomenon, created by extreme cold.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=chasing-extreme-cold-temperatures


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42