Sachertorte with a Twist!

DSC_0699.JPG

Every time I choose a recipe from my Grandad's cookbook I feel a bit nervous. It's like I'm going to cook in front of him. Especially if it is a recipe that he loved like this Sacher Torte which he has marked as one of his favorites. We know that Sacher torte has no filling, just the apricot jam. This is a version with a nice chocolate filling. I admit it wasn't easy to make, but all the great things in life don't come easy. That's what I love about these old cake recipes, there are no shortcuts, no easier ways. You go in the kitchen, you learn about the ingredients, you make mistakes, you fix them, and at the end you have the feeling of accomplishment, of creating something extraordinary. I always have a feeling that my Grandad is watching me from above, but today I think he was especially proud of me. I hope, at least. This cake isn't easy to make, but believe me it's worth it. After you make it you will realize why it is so famous and why it is one of Vienna's culinary specialties.

DSC_0694.JPG

Ingredients:

For the cake:
10 eggs
120 grams (4,2 oz)) butter
10 tablespoons sugar
10 tablespoons walnuts (grounded)
4 tablespoons cookie crumbs
100 grams (3,5 oz) chocolate (melted)
For the filling:
1 egg
1 egg yolk
100 grams (3,5 oz) chocolate
2 tablespoons milk
200 grams (7 oz) sugar
For the glaze

100 grams (3,5 oz) chocolate
100 grams (3,5 oz) sugar
3-4 tablespoons milk

DSC_0673.JPG

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.
Beat the egg yolks with the butter and the sugar. Beat them until the color is light yellow. Then add the walnuts and the crumbs. Beat the egg whites until they hold a stiff peak. Then fold in the whites into the yolks mixture. Pour the batter into a greased pan and bake for about 25 minutes. The cake must not be too dry, so be careful.

DSC_0675.JPG

For the filling,
First heat the milk with the sugar until it dissolves completely. Add the egg, the egg yolk and the chocolate and mix it with a mixer while it's still on the cooker. Mix until the cream becomes thick. Put it aside and wait for it to cool. When it's almost cold beat in the butter until well combined. Put the filling in the fridge for ten minutes.

When the cake is baked, leave it to cool for about 20 minutes. Then using toothpick and tread cut the cake in two.

DSC_0684.JPG

Take one part of the cake and put it on a serving plate. Spread some apricot jam on the cake and then spread more than half of the chocolate cream. Put the second cake on top and repeat the procedure.

For the glazing, heat the chocolate, sugar and milk until well combined. Then put it aside and let it cool. When is almost cold pour the glaze over the cake.
You can decorate with walnuts, ground or whole.
Bon appetit!

DSC_0703.JPG

DSC_0698.JPG

DSC_0708.JPG

Sort:  

Another beautiful and yummy chocolate treat. Steem on!

Thank you very much! Your support means so much :)

This cake looks delicious, I think I might try it some day

Thank you! It's totally worth the effort of making in :)

Now that is what I am talking about, that's amazing!!! Don't stop, keep these coming!

Thank you so much! I can't describe how much your support means to me :)

Beautiful Sacher Torte! ❤️ Thanks for sharing this great recipe with us!

Thank you so much! ❤

looks very delicious and yummy!

Thank you! It's really delicous, better than how it looks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40