Staring Deep into Space in the Colca Canyon, Peru

in #photography7 years ago

This single image (unstiched) is from one of my first ever night photography sessions back in early 2015. It has been cool to look back and see my own improvement over the years. Anyway, I had recently purchased a slightly more powerful camera (Sony a5100) up from a simple point and shoot travel camera. I generally travel very light so I wanted something more powerful but also compact. While hitchhiking through South America for several months I volunteered at this obseratory near the Colca Canyon in the small town of Yanque outside of Arequipa, Peru for two weeks. Sitting at roughly 11,500 ft, the nights were cold, the days were warm, and the night skies were always incredibly clear especially with a new moon. With little to do around town other than practice my spanish, help out around the hostel/observatory, and read it was a great place to relax and think after being constantly on the move for so long.

FB_IMG_1440371115914.jpg
18mm, f3.5, 16 sec, 1600 ISO

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem
All my photos are @originalworks. I am only beginning my journey on Steemit and have many more great photos to share, so if you like my content please follow, upvote and resteem. If you have any questions or would like to see more please contact me through my instagram @goneissean or steemit chat @goneissean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60323.94
ETH 2395.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54