Winter trip to Leavenworth, WA - Little Bavaria

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

New Years 2010 131.JPG

Until a few years ago, my group of friends and I would make our annual plans for a getaway to the Cascade Mountains. One of our favorite destinations was Leavenworth. This little town nestled in it's own little valley.

It's a popular tourist destination pretty much any time of year but it really gets magical during the winter season with the lights, horse drawn carriages, schnitzel and, of course, the beer and cheese!

There were usually at least 7 or 8 of us adults back before the kids started popping out of the ovens :D I think we actually got up to 14 people once. Anyways, we'd head for the hills just to get some more serious snow time since Seattle isn't very consistent with keeping it around.

Here are a few photos of one of our last trips to Little Bavaria...

New Years 2010 029.JPG

New Years 2010 022.JPG

Being weird at the Nutcracker Museum...
New Years 2010 031.JPG

New Years 2010 034.JPG

It's not Bavaria without the nutcrackers :)

New Years 2010 036.JPG

I want to eat your nuts!
New Years 2010 037.JPG

I'm a little more okay with the idea of horse drawn carriages in small towns away from all the noise. Much more peaceful and less crazy for the horse.
New Years 2010 046.JPG

And finally, the view from the backyard of our chosen rental house. So serene...

New Years 2010 064.JPG

New Years 2010 061.JPG

New Years 2010 086.JPG

New Years 2010 091.JPG

Sort:  

I can see why they call it 'Little Bavaria' - a pretty good imitation of the real thing!

The low clouds sweeping over the mountains are magical - nice capture!

Thank you :) I'm glad you enjoyed :)

Nice photos and town!

Excellent photography! I am wondering why you don't use one of the last ones as your top photo? Copy and paste the code. I also love the one of you. Silly face! You will get tons more views, imho.

Thanks :) :) I know, I thought about doing that but it didn't really fit with the flow. I'll do it and see what happens :)

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

Awesome, thank you! I noticed the link you share for me leads to another persons blog?

You are welcome @goldenroom , your pictures were breathtaking, that's corrected thank you

Lovely post. Glad I found this in the daily travel report!

Thanks Shelly! I really enjoyed yours as well. Beautiful photography! :)

I really love that light and shadow game that you captured on the first photo, @goldenroom. Great stuff!

Thank you :) :) I'm so glad you like it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68