The Coliseum, what an experience

in #photography7 years ago

A few years back I had the opportunity to have a stopover in Rome and got to spend some time wondering the Coliseum. Some time, ha I spent 6 hours walking around, just in awe of the size, complexity and how beautiful it is. I couldn’t resist sharing this with our community.

Here are a few of the highlight photos for you to enjoy. I know I did.






Sort:  

Its crazy how it was preserved for so long so well! I saw a video on history.com and there was still water in some of the old pipes used back then.

I’ve read that the coliseum was so advanced that it could be flooded for water shows including ships that would battle similar to pirates on the open seas. Truly an amazing wonder of the world.

It is huge. You really must visit it to appreciate the size and begin to understand the grandeur that place must have held.

So let’s be honest I am one of those Chevy chase types when I go site seeing. Look kids Grand Canyon, ok lets go. But I spent 6 hours. It was just fantastic.

One of my favorite cities abroad. Great history, architecture, and people.

The food is pretty good too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64