Lots of Swans

in #photography6 years ago
Sleeping Swan

IMG_3846.jpg

Weekends are currently my only free time, when I can go out from town. This time, I went to Ilmatsalu - Kärevere linnutee hiking trail. It's not that far from Tartu, but not also too close. Good thing was that the first bus went there at 6:20 am, perfect for getting sunrise pictures and at that time there wasn't a lot of people.

I got hyped when already in the beginning of the trail I saw the swans. They weren't the usual ones I have seen. They had yellow beak, which is different. Later near the watchtower, I got to know they are Whooper Swans, rare in Estonia and also under conservation. In Ilmatsalu, there were lots of Whooper Swans, I barely found any other birds, but still a few.

IMG_3770.jpg

Most of the swans were together in pairs. It bit made me feel as a loner middle of all the early morning dates, but it was fun time for me. One pair did this interesting thing, where they ran on water and in the end took off together.

IMG_3841.jpg
"Honey, wake up. We're being watched"
"Nah. I'm sleeping"

IMG_3829.jpg

IMG_3835.jpg
"One, two, three. OFF WE GOOOOO!"

IMG_3776.jpg

IMG_3792.jpg
The view from watchtower

Taken with Canon EOS 700D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68