SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Ornithophobia

I was recently promoting a series of marathons I was doing in support of an Australian kids charity Bravehearts.
During our fundraising I was referred to as brave on a number of occasions, for committing to multiple long runs.

As I'm not fearful of running far, I didn't view myself as brave. Surely you need to be fearful first, in order to be brave.

So I took on a challenge to promote Bravehearts, in which I truely needed to be brave.

I am Onithophobic. Terrified of Birds!! Yes, that is actually a thing, I have been bird phobic for as long as I can remember.
So I decided to have a bird encounter. Now I don't like to do things by halves, so a budgie (as scary as they are), wouldn't cut it, so I chose the deadliest bird I new of. I would have an up close and personal encounter with a Cassowary.

Okay then...........

I met this creature at Featherdale Wildlife Park, a lovely little Australian native wildlife park, in Western Sydney. If you haven't heard of the Cassowary before, imagine an Emu crossed with a Velociraptor. While they are actually, apparently, a fairly shy creature, they have been know to kill people when they feel threatened. They are fast, and have huge sharp talons.

I took this photo on my Iphone 5. So yes I was that close to it, to be able to get this image on a phone.

This is the image I clicked when it lunged.

Yes it was scary, but no way near as scary as a pigeon. Those bloody things are horrifying!!!!

#steemitphotochallenge #photography

Sort:  

I'm not afraid of birds but the bird in your picture really looks like one mean bird not to be messed with. We have a Bird Park in Singapore even where people pay to go see birds.

Love it - but how about those magpies??!!

I try not to think to hard about the magpies, or I have trouble going outside. The native minors are scary, and unassuming dive bombers as well.

I think you just discovered some sort of prehistoric dinosaur

ok this is one crazy shot! whaaaatttt haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36