Review. Macro lens for smart phone for less than $10 US.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Yes that's right ten dollars!

13 Australian dollars, which is just under ten dollars US.

On the US site this lens is only $5.

Yep, a quick google search revealed that we have encumbered the Australia tax again.
This basically means we pay more for the same product just because we are in Australia. But I won't get carried away about that issue today.

IMG_20180503_153209.jpg

I live with a gadget man @azurejasper. He is a great photographer and would produce good shots on any camera.

So I thought I would give it a go.

Who better to review a product than a complete novice?

It is basically a toy / gadget from typo. A gift / stationary shop.


You just clip it over the phone lens and use it as usual.

This was my first go at any kind of macro photography.

I have limited time due to health reasons and also toddler factors, so it was indeed a 10 minute backyard, point and shoot session.


This beauty we found hiding itself on the paper bark tree.

PSX_20180503_075725.jpg

IMG20180414112858.jpg

Here are another couple of shots.

This is how they came out, straight from my OPPO android phone. No processing at all.

IMG20180415094007.jpg

IMG20180414112418.jpg


I'm pretty happy with the lens.

With enough time and interest, for the price, they are pretty cool.

We also have a wide angle and fisheye lens.

Maybe I'll give them a run some time soon.


I have used the macro photography tag here.

@juliank runs a daily photography contest, today is macro and colourful photography day.

Each day has a different theme.

This contest has been running for some time. If you have ever attempted a steemit contest you will appreciate how much effort this requires.

Check out the contest here



IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the review. I have been looking for such a macro lens for a smartphone for a few days.

My husband @azurejasper did a review some time ago. I'm sure it's more informative than mine, I will see if I can find it .

this is really neat ! But that spider is horrifying to me !!! :-o
:-)
really cool.jpg

Love them!!! Great photos @girlbeforemirror. I need to get me one of these 'toys' asap :) Appreciate the review very much. Have an awesomeness day!

It did wonderful things with the spider. But both shots were great:)

this is just amazing macro photography, this lense is pretty and worth the cost 😍

Woah, not a bad little toy! I loved the dandelion one, macro dandelion shots always make me feel happy - and remind me there are still wishes to be had :)

I really like macrophotography,,,and also likebeautiful flower and natural place ,,,, Macro lens for smart phone ,,Thanks for sharing with us,,,

Beautiful closeup shots. Hats off to your photography and creativity.

Wow thats cool! Stinking taxes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35