A Very Special Tree Tuesday. Unassuming Ancient ones.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Recently I learned about some special trees on a medium strip not far from my home.

It is almost a park size space, a wide central reservation dividing the lanes of a quiet suburban street.
PSX_20180220_224006.jpg

A very attractive street with some equally nice looking houses. None of them would sell for under two million US dollars.
Quite a contrast to our dull apartments that are only minutes away.

But it wasn't the houses I had come to admire.

It was the trees.

PSX_20180220_225201.jpg

Steemit has sparked my interest in learning.

I was looking into the history of the area of Sydney where I live.

I discovered that within this group of trees was the last trees that were standing when the British took the land and declared Terra nullius.

Terra Nullius means no-ones land.

The British encountered the many people who lived in this area as soon as they arrived and took it as a British colony.

A high court decision in 1992 rejected the validity of terra nullius, to the point of recognition of a common law that had failed to recognise and protect the pre-existing land rights of indigenous people.

Terra Nullius however is still in place today in the eyes of International law.

Recognising Britain's acquisition of sovereignty over Australia and it's indigenous peoples.

In spite of the many nations that were established here at the time, and the high court decision in the Marbo case, a treaty has never been signed.


These trees have bore witness to history.

A history not easily spoken of. One that I have even carefully selected words for and still tentatively include.

PSX_20180220_225548.jpg

Australia unlike the many countries founded by British colonialism, still struggles to amend and recognise the past, and to recognise people.

People who's very existence was denied in spite of a history of land occupation that we now know easily predates 40 thousand years.


If trees could talk.

Would they?

PSX_20180220_225817.jpg

Or would they weep?

I went on a walk to find these trees.

PSX_20180220_224209.jpg

I'm no botanist, so I can't be sure, but I wanted to share the photographs of the great eucalyptus trees that were in this very small area.

PSX_20180220_224550.jpg

IMG20180211083150.jpg

IMG20180211083226.jpg


Thanks for looking or botting.

IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

The magnificent Standing People watch our human foibles in stoic silence. Thank you for this sensitive and beautiful post. I sometimes go on rants in support of the local indigenous people here, 10000 years strong...40,000 is beyond profound. May their wisdom some day return to the forefront and save humanity from our selves!

It is probably more like 60 thousand. Amazing unknown wisdom. No one did own the land I suppose, what a ridiculous idea to an ancient civilisation to think you can own land, you belong to the land not the other way around.
I do my best to stay as neutral to an already inflamed situation, because it definitely doesn't need more fuel from my hot head, but I confess I am not very good at containing a soap box moment.

Very cool trees! :-)

Did you hug them? Maybe they already are talking ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76