Tree Tuesday.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I live in Sydney, just west of the CBD.

We have lots of trees, some native and many introduced, that battle with the urban environment.

Many like this one were planted when European settlement began in this area early in the 19th century.

PSX_20171121_055127.jpg

They give the council workers a constant supply of work, maintaining the branches and power cables. Under ground they wreak havoc, with their roots infiltrating the old clay pipes.

Recent rezoning has seen many suburbs of Sydney now approved for medium density housing.

With green space disappearing in place of apartment blocks, every tree is precious.


Of course the Wangal people lived here for thousands of years.

29 clan groups inhabited the area now known as the greater Sydney area.
All with there own history, languages, customs, traditions and stories.

These nations existed here for at least 40,000 years.

Sydney area - The Eora Nation.

Eora meaning - From here.

It was the word used to describe who they were when they first met European invaders.

Less than 1% of Sydney's current population is of indigenous descent.


There are only a few original gum trees in the local area that predate European settlement.

They are not far from my home. Perhaps I will pay them a visit later today.

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Steemit connectedness has helped me continue to work towards improved health. Whether a photo challenge or an outing to source materials for a project. These small steps have made rehabilitation less arduous.

I was speaking with @novaatebatman about the difficulty I was having just going for a short walk. He recommended something fun like Pokemon Go, to take my mind off the task.

While Pokemon isn't my thing, I took his advice and focused on the daily challenges such as tree Tuesday.

I guess it's a form of mindfulness. Or mindlessness?

Whatever it is. It worked. Before I knew it I had walked around the block.

Sort:  

Beautiful tree.
The pokemon go, caught my attention hehe
I'm glad it worked:):)
I also wanna invite to join #gratefulvibes community @paradise-found
Only if you have time:) thank you so much.

I wish you well, stay strong and have a blessed day.

hugss xoxo

That's the biggest most spread out tree I've ever seen.

Its soo greeny and beautiful...good to have this shared..todays challenge has been good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66