Winter Beach Huts

in #photography6 years ago


Hove Promenade Beach Huts in the Snow


This photo was taken a couple of winters ago when we actually got some snow.

It shows the uniform size of the beach huts on Hove Promenade. To own one you need to license the space from the Council and pay a fee. You must also be a resident of Brighton and Hove.

There are strict rules about how you maintain them and how you use them. You are not allowed to sleep in them, for example.

The backs and sides have to be painted in a specific colour, as in the top photo, but the doors can be any single solid colour or vertically striped in multiple colours. The must not exceed 1.83m square with a maximum height of 2.5m.

Snow Beach Huts Architecture.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

Beach hut owners must own their hut for at least three years before they can sell.

I just did a quick check and one is currently for sale for £25,000. Yep you read that right. That's about $35,000 US. Totally bonkers!

beach huts.jpg



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for this daily photography contest.

Sort:  

Wow ....This one is amazing... You really got some great photos

A peculiar sight. Color combinations are also rather amazing. I think it's worth keeping them for others to see.
About the money , well you can ask as much as you want for something if there is someone that pays for it, I wouldn't.
Here you can not buy too much with such money although you go to lost villages.

Wow! All that money AND all those rules! You can buy a 6 acre ocean front lot for about $40,000 USD here in NS...and paint your hut any way you want! 😀

Really @anise? $40,000. 6 acres. That's amazing!

Yes..it's just up the road from me. There are many inexpensive lots here and even homes, needing some work, but available for less than the price of that beach hut!

In my area of the US, you can buy a nice little ocean front property for $1,000,000 and hope the ocean doesn't wash it away with rising tides....

What a wonderful shot! I have seen these huts, but, didn't know the restrictions were so rigid. I guess it keeps everything nice looking!

Yes. I suppose so @dswigle. The backs are what you see from the main road where all the Regency buildings are. They also have to painted in a particular colour!

I would really like to own one of those!

I'm fortunate. I don't need one. They are only a block away from where I live. 😁

Thanks for stopping by.

I love the first one with the pink, yellow, and black stripes, but I don't like it enough to shell out $35k! That's when you know you finally have too much money.....lol

Yep. Although I suppose it's all relative. Property prices around here are stupid high too! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56