"The Masks"

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180213_1mk958410.jpg

So I've found this sculpture in one of Tehran's metro stations. It was very unique and eye-catching.
It surprised me to see it exactly in the metro, a place controlled by government. I could literally see the protest in it.

I haven't stayed in Tehran a lot, but as I visited Isfahan and Shiraz I didn't see anything like this all the art in those places was traditional. In the other stations there were also some sculptures and photos, but no of them gave me the feeling that this one did.

You really can read a lots of things from these faces lik:e anger, riot, scare, blindness, surprise, fight...
The metro in Tehran is very crowded and busy everyday, I relate this faces with the people inside it.

IMG_2nm0180213_195829_10.jpg

As I later read about it, the station where the sculpture was installed is located under theater.
The author put the name "The Masks" connecting it with theater and the roles the actors play.
He says the sculpture has 60 characters.
And he spend 4000$ to make and install it.

Later the management of the metro told him to remove it.
They consider it an something from the devil and as Iran has very conservative government they find it aggressive.
Maybe they also saw the protest in it.
The other reason, as they say, was that the management of the metro changed and they don't approve things done by the previous management.

And the author told them that he doesn't have enough money and equipment to do it.
What will happen to this sculpture I don't know.

I'm very disappointed, once in a while I found a very unique piece of art in Iran and they are going to remove it without an exact reason for it.

So tell me, what do you think about it?

Sort:  

Thanks @getthehead for sharing this picture - I loved this piece of wall art, a truly clever way to express the thoughts, emotions and ideas of the people... no wonder the authorities are annoyed!

It's sad to hear the piece might suffer the fate of so many other great artworks just because someone in power decides it's making people think..!
Followed @getthehead and upvoted the post.

Thank you, I'm very glad you like the article.

As I know the author is going to show his works in Italy

That sounds promising!

It’s kind of mesmerizing, can’t keep my eyes off of it. And I was very surprised to read that it is the sculpture in the metro. Thank you for your post

thanks for sharing this was wonderful art work. and what thoughts!!!! savage one!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78