Sort:  

You're in Tucson?
They almost invariably come from the south during monsoon season. They started calling them haboobs somewhere along the line, though it's a new name to me. We've always just called them dust storms. :) They can be particularly intense along I-10 west and south of Phoenix and east of Tucson. It's aggravated by farmers who leave their fields without cover crops.
Here's one from just a week ago, from Sky Harbor. Once they turn for takeoff, unless you just like to watch, skip to 8:00 and you'll see it from the air.

I know they closed down the I-10 a few times recently because of the sandstorms. None have been in Tucson in the 2 years I have lived there. The haboob name is new to me as well.

The video was pretty cool, I liked to see it from the air like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59511.68
ETH 2613.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39