Getting Started in Film Photography for less than 150$

in #photography7 years ago

2017_0716_16274400resize.jpg

You may be thinking to yourself this is impossible, or that you'd be buying a bunch of junk at that price. However it is actually very easy to get into shooting film at very low cost. Since decades of development went into film photography and the technology was almost completely abandoned, there is an abundance of high quality equipment selling for an affordable amount of money. Now I know many people will be thinking of Leica and Hasselblad when they hear film photography and these are very expensive, but you have to remember, that there were many more manufacturers producing cameras in the 70's and 80's than there are today. Many cameras where designed with amateurs in mind and they can be had for very little money nowadays.

What to look out for

The most important thing to look out for with any camera purchase -be it digital or analogue- is what ecosystem you are buying into. Every camera manufacturer has their own set of lenses and accessories, that are usually hard or impossible to transfer from one brand to another. This is why it is crucial to research how scalable and diverse the particular ecosystem is. It's is important to make sure, that the high-end products are compatible with the low-end and that there is a wide selection, particularly of lenses, in all price categories. Further, it's important to remember that this equipment has been around for decades and will have seen some wear and tear. If you are buying your equipment in person, ensure that the light seal is in good order. This is a small strip of foam above the mirror and around the backplate of the camera, that will degrade after about 10 years and turn sticky, resulting in the mirror sticking to the body and light creeping in through the gap destroying your photos. Additionally, you should ensure the camera's action is snappy and responsive and the dials work correctly.
As far as lenses are concerned you should make sure they are clean, free of scratches and have no signs of fungus. If buying online it's important the seller has posted high-quality images of these critical areas and assures that the camera is in proper working order. The seller should also respond promptly to any enquiries about the state of the camera and be willing to provide extra information and pictures.

001 (1).jpg
Typical light seal areas. This image is not my original content. The source can be found here!

Some recommendations

Nikon or Pentax users can easily pick up an old 35mm body and use F-mount or K-mount lenses respectively, as the lens mount hasn't changed and remains compatible. This gives people who own those specific brands of digital cameras an easy entry into film photography. The other side of the coin would be brands such as Canon, who abandoned the FD-mount when they switched the entire ecosystem to EF-mount. The advantage of this is that a lot of FD-equipment can be had for a song, but the tradeoff is no upwards scalability. This doesn't necessarily have to a problem though, as the FD ecosystem is so massive, that pretty much every need can be fulfilled within it. Finally the same applies to the Contax/Yashica ecosystem. This is my personal choice (I am biased here), as it allows both for an easy entry with the cheaper Yashica equipment (which can be had for peanuts) and massive scalability, as the top of the range lenses were made by Carl Zeiss, who have proven to make some of the best optical equipment in the history of photography.
For this reason, my personal pick for a cheap and easy entry would be a Yashica FX-3, which can be had for less than 50$. A solid second choice would probably be the Canon AE-1 at just under 100$ and coming in third would be the Pentax K1000, which sells slightly above 100$, but can be found at bargain prices from time to time.

2017_0720_03122400.jpg
The Yashica FX-3. Nothing particularly spectacular, but it get's the job done and doesn't rely on batteries. It's also very lightweight. This makes it an ideal little companion in rougher conditions and should it get lost or damaged it's cheap to replace.

35mm Film

Film can be ordered online and there are many developing services that allow you to send in your exposed rolls of film by post. Ideally, you should find a local store that both sells film and does their processing locally, to ensure you have somebody to give you advice as you get started and reduce the time it takes to receive your negatives. As far as a breakdown of different types of film goes, I will have to leave that for another post. For now, you should focus on either Colour or B&W film with an ISO value between 100 and 400. Personally, I would be looking at things along the lines of Fujifilm Superia ISO 200 (Colour) and Ilford HP5 Plus ISO 400 (B&W).

2017_0720_03092100.jpg
I would consider this the low end of my film collection. I like to have a wide selection at all times and will need to stock up some more colour and slide film soon. This is part of the beauty of analogue photography, you get to switch things up and play around with different types of film.

Measuring light

Finally, you will require a light meter. Some cameras have integrated light meters, but I highly recommend buying an external light meter and learning how to use it properly. They start at about 20$ and are vastly superior to integrated solutions.
Light meters are essential to analogue photography, as you cannot take test shots to see if your settings are correct. An accurate light meter will save you a lot of money and the painful experience of discovering your entire roll was over- or underexposed and those photos are lost forever. The light meter helps you identify the optimal settings for your camera with your chosen film, thus giving you a baseline to work with.

My personal collection

90% of my collection is made up of C/Y equipment and Carl Zeiss glass. I firmly believe the C/Y system is one of the most undervalued ecosystems in photography, as Contax effectively ceased to exist in the digital age and has largely been forgotten. However, the combination of high-quality Japanese camera bodies and exquisite German lens making come together to produce some outstanding equipment, with a wide variety of accessories to fulfill every need possible. Additionally, I have used my Carl Zeiss lenses on a number digital cameras with appropriate adapters, including Canon, Olympus and now Fujifilm.

2017_0720_03034700.jpg
Currently in a state of reorganization. The basic cameras and lenses have all been more or less organized. The next step is sorting through boxes of filters.

Click this if you missed the Introduction to Film Photography!

If you liked this post please let me know in the comments and give me an upvote.

If you loved this article you can help me out by following me @gentbynature and resteeming this post.

Thank you very much for reading and I hope to see you again!

Sort:  

Very cool post... I like it :)

Thanks. I try my best.

Congratulations @gentbynature! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great collection! You're so lucky to own such magnificent equipment and keep the film tradition alive. Is that a Zenza Bronica I spy? I've got a ETRS myself and a Yashica Mat 124G Twin Lens Reflex (needs to be cleaned because the shutter is slightly off). Hopefully I make some money on here to pay for its service and then I can use the adorable thing again properly. I want to get an adapter for the Bronica lens so I can use them on my Nikon digital. They're probably the best glass I have in my collection so I'm wondering how they would go shooting on the D3300.

Thank you for your comment. I do feel fortunate to own such a collection, although the circumstances I inherited them by were terrible. I have been looking after the collection mainly as a homage to my uncle whom I inherited them from when he passed unexpectedly. The cameras had been sitting in a cupboard and nobody knew they existed until we had to clear his flat after his death. At the time I didn't really know what to do with all of it and simply used the digital equipment, but as time passed I got more and more into it, eventually finding a love for the analogue equipment. There's literally boxes of the stuff and maintaining it all is a small pain in itself, but quite enjoyable at the same time.
That is indeed a Zenza Bronica. An ETRsi to be exact. This also answers my question on your lizard post. Love the ETRsi thing. It's simply stunning. Despite my Contax equipment being almost entirely high quality Carl Zeiss glass, I regularly go back to shooting the Bronica for the phenomenal images medium format produces. I hope you get the Yashica Mat fixed, would be a shame for it to go unused. TLRs have been somewhere on my "want to have list" right below a Hasselblad C/M, a classic Leica and a large format camera :-).
I'm not sure it's even possible to adapt the Bronica lenses to Nikon F-mount. If it worked wouldn't have a massive crop factor since the lens is designed for a much larger negative?
Why don't you get into some manual focus Nikon glass? Nikon never changed their mount so you can basically use any lens ever made by Nikon without too much hassle and some of the older ones are real gems going for affordable prices.

That's a great pity but I feel that your uncle would be glad you're enjoying his wonderful collection - it would be sad for it to sit idle. Yeah that's the trouble with old film gear, I have two 135 cameras (Russian Zenit with Helios 44-2 lens and German Practika which needs the lens fixed as the aperture has become stuck wide open) which I never use because I prefer the sheer bulk of the Bronica or the convenience of not carrying anything else when I use my Yashica Mat124G TLR. I've tried to repair myself but beyond simple maintenance it has been a dismal failure.

I love my Carl Zeiss lens but that's the one that needs to be fixed so I can't really use it anymore. My Yashica is a beautiful little camera that people often come up and ask me about. I can use it but I just cannot expect the high quality that I get with my Bronica. After a service it should be fine. It's definitely on my to-do list (which is getting quite long!). I've used large format cameras when I completed a wet plate collodian course and they're fantastic. I would love an old wooden one.

I saw some adapters on Ebay and I think that the crop sensor will only add to the focal length which should give me nice portrait lens to work with. Again it's on my to-do list. I have two older Nikkors: 50mm and 28mm both from the ~1960s and they're brilliant to use. If I take a landscape picture I probably used my 28mm as it's the widest I've got (which isn't much with the crop factor!). Yeah I had them shipped from Japan and they're in magnificent condition - far better than the German and Russian cameras I bought.

I like to think the collection is in good hands as long as it sees use, but to be honest I could easily sell half of the stuff for lack of necessity. It's mainly for sentimental reasons that I keep it all around. There are a couple of bodies that are either bust and need a full service or require replacing the light seals (that's on my to-do list). The core equipment that sees regular use is about a half dozen bodies and roughly the same amount of lenses. It's nice to be able to load up different film in different bodies and just take what I need when I need it, but I always gravitate to a core set of cameras I feel most comfortable with.

Some equipment is fun to use but totally dated, such as radio/infrared controllers and flash packs, which all require truckloads of batteries. There are also things like a box full of Kodak gelatin filters, which are great to use, but totally impractical out in the field due to their propensity for picking up dirt.
It's kind of like a big time capsule of what a professional photographer would have owned in the 70's and 80's.

What I do love about it though is how well built the stuff is. I had a Zeiss 80-200mm lens drop from my camera bag in India during the first week of a 6 month trip. It went face first into concrete from waist level and only dented the filter. I proceeded to drag that lens through high 30's (Celsius) and 90+% humidity during monsoon and all the way down to double digits below zero during winter in the Himalayan mountains. Overall it probably received the worst treatment you could imagine in that time and it still works just fine.

I'm interested in your experience ordering from Japan, as I have been thinking of ordering equipment from there. Since you are in Australia your distance is shorter, but I have been thinking of ordering equipment from Japan, particularly because the price is so much better than buying from Europe.

That is absolutely brilliant. I'd keep it even if it was just lying around waiting to be repaired. At least there's the possibility that you may use it in the future and if you have the space, why not. I've always been fascinated by older equipment because, growing up, we never had anything more than a point and click film camera. SLRs were never seen and my father is reluctant (now that he's seen my progress with photography) to let me check out his old negs.

I had some experience (first time) with humidity recently in Vietnam and I was terrified but it turned out okay. I would never for obvious reasons purchase anything second hand from anywhere tropical but it was fine at the end of the day. Not sure how I could avoid temperature shock anyway...

Ordering from Japan was a breeze. I went there recently but didn't really feel an urge to step inside a camera shop. There are plenty of film photographers hanging around in Japan and some tourist places still stock disposable film cameras. I would recommend ordering from Japan for most vintage camera gear as it's been my best experiences so far (some of the other places must fix them without really knowing what they're doing).

I'm definitely not getting rid of anything. It's just one of these really big and possibly expensive jobs I put off over and over again. Old film equipment can be tons of fun, but as I mentioned before there are issues. However, when you do use it all as intended and work within the constraints of the technology, that kit does allow for some pretty freaky stuff.
You should badger your father and make sure to back up all those negatives. I can totally sympathise with your predicament. My grandmother is sitting on all my uncle's old negatives and at one point she even went ahead and destroyed a bunch because she deemed them unnecessary. I don't blame her though, she's been through more than enough and who knows, maybe the negatives were just duplicates as she said. Would have been nice to see them for myself though.

As regards humidity, I found cold temperatures to be the real killer for lenses. The lens I talked about previously began developing a small spot on an inner lens when temperatures went below -10 Celsius. Luckily it had no effect on image quality and I was able to nip the issue in the bud by insulating the lens from the cold. I don't think there really is a way to avoid temperature shock, other than slowly acclimatising. At the time I went from sea level to 3000 meters above within 3 days and had a drop in temperature from 35 C to under -10. Had I taken some time to acclimatise the lens properly I'm sure there would ahve been zero issues.

It's good to hear ordering from Japan has been fine for you. That has my little "Hasselblad dream" rotating through my head again. Saw some great deals recently.

Yeah I think I went a bit bananas with my gear buying and am glad I stopped at 5 cameras. Even this is too much for me and I want to get rid of the two 35mm film camera because I don't really feel the enjoyment from them ever since I got the medium formats.

Haha I've tried but he's adamant for unknown reasons. I'm sure when I go for a visit next time I'll try and negotiate.

The abrupt change poses many issues, especially with the demands of the family and the humidity of Vietnam and the airconditioning inside. Yours sounds worse than my experience. Timing the transition is always going to be the issue. I wonder how travel photographers go about it?

Good luck with that dream! I wanted the Fuji Fujifilm Gx680 or the Mamiya RZ67 but the first one has a bit of weight to it and the second I lost on the eBay auction! I was lucky there were plenty of Bronicas on sale :)

You can never have too much gear ;-). I wouldn't give up on 35mm just yet. I recently set up a super compact Contax 139 Quartz with a pancake 45mm and tiny lens hood running 49mm filters. It's a super neat little system, with an integrated light meter, that allows me to travel ultralight.

I'm not sure how travel photographers go about things, but I assume they probably account for all possible scenarios in advance and come fully prepared, possibly even carrying/storing redundancies for the worst case.

I really hope I can find a good deal on a Hasselblad sometime in the not too distant future. Would really round out my current kit and give me something new to play with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50