A Day in Mainz Part 2: The Test Shots

in #photography7 years ago

This is part 2 of a series. Click this if you missed part 1!

After leaving St. Stephens church we took to the alleys and side roads, meandering down from the what's called "The Citadel" (Die Zitadelle) into the old part of town (Altstadt). This part of town has existed since the Romans, but most of the architecture dates back to the 1870's. The following images are a couple of test shots taken with my Fujifilm XT-10, as the main focus was shooting a roll of B&W Ilford HP5+ through the Contax RTS II. It's useful to take test shots along the way when shooting film, as it allows you to experiment with exposures and composition, whilst being able to see your results instantly.

mainz-blach-and-white-1.jpg
I really liked the look of this covered balcony.

mainz-blach-and-white-2.jpg
The underside of the balcony had some nice detailing.

mainz-blach-and-white-3.jpg
The road leading up to the "Kupferbergterasse", a raised residential area.

mainz-blach-and-white-4.jpg

mainz-blach-and-white-5.jpg
My comrades @racing-richard and @patze.

mainz-blach-and-white-6.jpg
An old Mercedes 280 SL. Sadly I only caught it as it was leaving.

mainz-blach-and-white-12.jpg

mainz-blach-and-white-7.jpg

mainz-blach-and-white-8.jpg
The old part of town is full of nice open spaces and even on a Saturday afternoon there was very little crowding.

mainz-blach-and-white-9.jpg
Crazy little guy. The speed those little legs can move at.

mainz-blach-and-white-10.jpg
My Contax RTS II. I'm seriously hoping those pictures turned out well.

mainz-blach-and-white-11.jpg
View across the river Rhine and Theodor Heuss bridge.

These images were taken on a Fuji XT-10 with 16-50mm lens. Hopefully, I can conclude this short series with a perfect set of scans from my roll of film. Will take about a week for me to get the results though.

All images are the copyright of @gentbynature. They may be freely reproduced, as long as the author is adequately accredited.

If you liked this post I would appreciate an upvote and a comment, if you didn't let me know why!

If you loved this post you can help me out by following me and resteeming!

Sort:  

Congratulations @gentbynature! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like your blogs. I enjoyed reading , It was amazing. @gentbynature

Beautifully done in old way... @gentbynature

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64841.81
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87