Frozen Rock Quarries


I decided to take my new Nikon Camera and go out to the nearby rock quarries. Well, it's almost an hour drive away, so it's not exactly nearby... but It's one of my favorite places to go walk around, take some nature pictures and let my dog run around.



I was planning for the quarry water holes to be opened to show ice and water as those might make some cool looking pictures. That wasn't the case though, even after all the warm weather and the fact that they run around 200ft deep, they were still completely frozen over.



But signs of thawing are there - so maybe next week?



I will have to come back soon to get the picture opportunities I was looking for. For the meantime, I took some snowy cliff photos and tested out my new camera. I'm a very amateur photographer that uses the auto setting - everyone has to start somewhere!



I'm really liking this camera by the way. (Nikon D3400)

Now I think I need some good photo editing software, if anyone has a suggestion feel free to drop it in a comment...

Thanks for checking out my posting

~Keep on - Steemin' on~

@generation.easy

Sort:  

Some before and after pictures when spring is in full force showing how much the area has change from the seasons would be nice. I always wonder what can be done if anything with abandoned rock quarries. There one down here people sneak into to go cliff jumping off into the waters below if I’m not mistaken. Not exactly how they city wants people using the area so they try and keep people out.

For some reason now I want try my hand at some prospecting somewhere!

This one is a state reserve now and has 3 swimming holes and like 5 trout fishing holes.
It's actually a pretty popular spot - in the summer and some go cross country skiing in the winter.

I've been going here since I was a teenager, and like to visit from time to time.

The place you went around is a great place I love. The place I went from that place a few days ago I love it very much, hopefully I will come back to this place in a few days.

Ignore reference:
bnb: 0x2345325299da3bf81793a5592f5ffde0b3fc4a44
Nc: 0x2345325299da3bf81793a5592f5ffde0b3fc4a44

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81