Todays theme is ‘Not wearing shoes!’

in #photography8 years ago

Shoeless Learning and Circus Skills!

It has been too long! Apologies, I have had an absolute mountain of online work to get through and checking 1800 school and college websites for job vacancy pages doesn’t really provide much inspiration. However, I did find two things of interest;

  1. One of the schools has adopted a ‘shoeless learning space’. Basically no one wears shoes and apparently it’s massively beneficial. There’s been a study over the last 10 years which suggests that it improves childrens behaviour and academic standards because classrooms are calmer and more relaxed. Haha, the Telegraph reports “So far theft of shoes left outside the classroom has not been reported as a problem.” That would be weird...

  2. There are colleges where you can get circus skill qualifications! I must say, I never actually looked into it before because I assumed to join the circus you had to run away at a young age and find a travelling one. I’m not sure I exist in the right century…

Beach Day!

A few pics from yesterdays trip to the beach with the husband! (No shoes!)

Some of the ‘Fairytales at Sea’ sculptures by Tom Otterness. I have no idea what fairytale they’re from tho…

Random horizon face…

The new ferris wheel!

And bungy jumping! (This is not me! I was sensibly drinking wine on the pier...)

Another lovely day! Now, what to do with it…? :)

Sort:  

Looks a perfect day for drinking wine on the pier :-) I recently visited a school where the children remove their shoes to use the IT room and they also remove them for their Chinese language lesson.

I understand the reasons for the Chinese lesson...I guess there was a new carpet in the IT room!? In schools that introduced shoeless learning, they saved up to 27% on cleaning costs! I can't really see a disadvantage of it...but then I like not wearing shoes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44