Meet Kippy, The Late Wild Hedgehog Who Lived in my Hedge

in #photography7 years ago

In the Israeli version of Sesame Street, there is a great big hedgehog mascot called "Kippy Ben Kipod," which translates to "Hedgy son of Hedgehog." When 4-5 years ago a wild hedgehog turned up in our yard, there was no other name to give it but Kippy.

Here he is, in a photo I took in September of this year. I actually took them from about a foot from him. Before I rushed to grab the camera, I actually stared at him from a couple of inches away.

Kippy 1.jpg

You can see Kippy next to one of the cats' kibble dishes, and their water dish. He'd stand with his front feet on the rim of the bowl and dig in. He'd sometimes stand in the water as he drank it.

Up until August, Kippy was quite energetic and nimble, but from October, he turned sluggish and slow. He actually died a day after I took these photos :(

Here is another photo I took of him, this time with flash:

Kippy 2.jpg

A friend on facebook said he had mites, can anyone confirm?

Surprisingly, 2-3 weeks after Kippy who lived in our hedge passed away, a new hedgehog arrived, which I named Knuckles (after he of Sonic the Hedgehog fame, even if he's an echidna). He was also nimble and quick when he arrived, but within the month became sluggish as well, but he seemed to have recovered before disappearing for his winter hibernation.

Also, for those who wonder, none of the cats ever bothered the hedgehogs, or paid them much attention. And yes, from close up, their faces look mightily like a Norse troll's.

Sort:  

This is amazing! I've actually never saw a living hedgehog. If i found myself seeing one, it's always dead :(

Yeah, when Kippy and Knuckle were energetic, I'd mostly observe them from the kitchen window. But as time passed and they grew weaker, I got to spend time closer to them.

Knuckles isn't as good of a hedgehog, while eating and drinking, he kept pooping all around him... >.>

I hope Knuckles returns next year as well.

Congratulations @geekorner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41