The barnacle

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Interesting land-form I photographed in Namibia called the barnacle or witches hat.

It's the truncated end of a heavily contorted mountain range that has been sliced through by the Orange river.

the barnicle.JPG

It also marks the start of the Richtersveld, a mountainous desert landscape that is also the only Arid biodiversity hotspot and has portions of it proclaimed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In the barnacle you can see heavily folded layers that were originally flat layers of sand. They were hardened to quatzite and compressed from the sides to form the drastic zig-zag patterns.

folded.JPG

Sort:  

Richtersveld seems like a European, perhaps German or Dutch name. Maybe I am wrong, but that was my first impression.

The details according to Wikipedia...

The German Empire established rule over most of the territory as a protectorate (Schutzgebiet) in 1884. It began to develop infrastructure and farming, and maintained this German colony until 1915, when South African forces defeated its military in World War 1.

Even today there is still a sizable German population and influence.

Cool to know, thanks!

Hello my friend ... This mountain is beautiful .... Have you climbed this mountain before? Because the mountains are 40 km away from home and I love mountain climbing ... but it 's very difficult

how altitude this mountain @mars9 and @gavvet ?

This feature is only 30 meters high from where I took the picture but the area has peaks 500m above sea level

nice peaks, but it looks very difficult to climb to the peak

Now I want to see gavvet climbing this mountain!

I rather climbed the one next to it to get a better view...

next door.JPG

My friend ... I agree with you

Very nice, when I heard it was under the auspices of UNESCO. Here, there are a lot of heritage and nice places, but still cared for by the community, UNESCO has not arrived yet. Cool @gavvet

It's beautiful

Resteem

Interesting landscape, impressive ...

I really want to visit Namibia & see the desert, it have some good scenery!

Worthy of being a world heritage site.
Nice pict.

Exchellent post dear @gavvet!!
Thank you again for the good and hard work..._))

An interesting shots! Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57651.10
ETH 2377.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42