Bubbleologists.. Yes, it's a thing! (Author Promotion)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I would be selfish of me and not in the long-term interests of steemit if I posted often and kept all the rewards my posts have been earning lately.
So I'm experimenting with a new method of growing the author community diversity.
I am promoting authors from my continent (Africa first, other slow adoption continents later) in order to help them get a following and become Tuna's and Dolphins.
Once they have a following, they I'm sure will do the same.
The plan is to promote new authors for a couple of weeks.
All the liquid rewards for the post will go to them to buy STEEM and power up their accounts. Then I move on to the next authors I feel are producing good, diverse content that will expand the diversity of topics and content on STEEM.
The Steem power from the post will remain in my account, to help improve the strength of my voting finger. That way I will be able to reward even more diverse content and "up and coming" authors that otherwise might be missed with vote love.

Below follows content provided by @pixiepeach that was completely overlooked when she posted it. I think it is absolutely awesome and she has many more great posts to come. Make sure you start to follow her if you like her style.

Last year my mum received a phone call from my aunt asking if we can look after her children for a few days leading up to Christmas, and of course we agreed.

Very curious why, we found that her and her partner had been invited to participate in an all-expenses paid trip to India!

What possible reason could someone have to pay for them to go to India out of the blue you ask?

They were going to perform in a BUBBLE FESTIVAL!!


They hadn’t been asked out of the blue of course, my aunt and her partner (Lucy and Mike) are in fact BUBBLEOLOGISTS!!!

Yes, to our surprise as well, this is actually a thing!

Here are some pictures of what they do:






They professionally perform at parties, events, festivals, you name it!

They even have their own secret bubble mixture formula, unfortunately I can’t share this with you as the world of Bubbleologists is apparently very competitive.

What is a Bubbleologist you ask?

Well… They do things with bubbles.. big bubbles, small bubbles, bubbles filled with smoke, fire bubbles, bubbles inside other bubbles, you think it, they can do it!



It’s a pretty cool thing to have in the family I’d say, not that I have any real skill in this art, although I have put Mike in a bubble!

Here’s a picture of me and my brothers inside a bubble at my sister’s birthday party (definitely the best kids party so far).

They really are skilled in the art of bubbles, Mike was even asked to try and set a new Guinness world record for putting a Helicopter inside of a bubble!

Unfortunately, he couldn’t quite beat the current record, but he gave it a fair shot!

Sort:  

So I'm experimenting with a new method of growing the author community diversity.
I am promoting authors from my continent (Africa first, other slow adoption continents later) in order to help them get a following and become Tuna's and Dolphins.

That's an excellent idea! And thank you for showing us what a Bubbleologist does! Could you also tell us how your aunt and her partner became Bubbleologists? Are there, for example, people who are teaching aspiring Bubbleologists? :)

Your welcome, thank you! My Aunt had a face-painting company where she would face-paint at parties and events, and my uncle wanted to help out, so was experimenting with things to do and somehow came up with the idea of bubbling, through lots of research and experimentation he started to master the craft and performed alongside my Aunt. Not long after they were both bubbling and finding new tricks all the time and performing, that's how they were recruited to the bubble festival in India.

Wow. Very interesting post about Bubbleologist. Just learned about this professionalism today.
By the way, @gavvet, great strategy you got there for wanting to promote undervalued content creators. Wishing you all the best at it and much more success.

Thanks, we will see how it goes. @donkeypong was the first to experiment with this type of thing a couple of months back.

Never would of imagined lol, great to see people that find their passion.

I would also have never though.... can you imagine if we had more of this type of "enlightening" content on steemit

Anything that gives a little bit of a better perception of the world is good in my opinion.

Thanks for the promotion gavvet!! :) And thanks for the original upvote spiz0r! We did manage to get out of the bubble with no injuries.. just about

Posting up such good content is only a pleasure. The bar is set high now, don't let it slip

i really hope those kids got out of that bubble okay :/

Bubble related injuries are them worst!

lol

Loved this post thanks for sharing. Gavin you're the man and rock my world.

@gavvet is doing a very good thing by reposting the Steemit user @pixiepeach 's post about bubbles. However, his repost is at 1,075.48 and hers is 0.17 currently, which clearly shows a fault in the system.

Original content is consistently getting overlooked for a variety of reasons, while some very unoriginal content gets promoted by a network of users to get it to trend where new users can then push the value higher and higher.

It's very much a who you know and who you blow situation right now; one that I'm hoping improves quickly.

It takes time to build reputation... the first month of posting for me was a complete blow-out but I persevered and found my audience.

Now I can post what I feel like as ling as it is good quality.

Poor quality and I get hammered.

All authors will need to work at it to find their sweet spot.

The follow button doesn't work yet.

So how are people knowing your content is worthwhile? I assume that some of them look at your wallet and figure this guy is a whale so I'll make like a lamprey and latch on t o his posts when they pop up. Or you have some friends here that you communicate with and let know you are about to post something and they vote you up to get the ball rolling? Not suggesting that is true in your case or that this is unethical, but it becomes a case of who you know. And if you somehow get the attention of a benefactor whale through inveigle or payola then it's who you blow!

Thar she blows!

Great post! Reminds me of Burning Man antics. Do you have any advice for members seeking an audience and more importantly, feedback? The hashtag system seems to limit the views. I am trying catchier titles and adding photographs as well.
Thanks,
H

Nice post gavvet! I will follow this series of introducing authors. I also upvoted the original post.
About the bubblefest, my little daughter would love to stand inside a bubble! :)

What a great idea @gavvet! So many posts are just rehashes of popular themes, so unearthing little nuggets like this one is really refreshing. Let's hear a lot more from @pixiepeach.

Thanks! I was really impressed with this one... I have a couple of other authors with cool content in the pipeline.

My son loved the gazillion bubbles show in NY! Good stuff, amazing what they can do!

Bubbles are a load of fun! you should try seeing it in real life! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49