A prickly customer for a photoshoot

in #photography7 years ago

This little critter made for a great macro subject.

head on.JPG

Full length.

lateral.JPG

Without the flash on, for a slightly different colour effect.

no flash.JPG

What amazes me is how macro shots can even get to the level of showing individual cells.

It becomes clear that the top layer of cells is relatively transparent and the pigmented cells are a little deeper within the caterpillar.

cells2.JPG

Sort:  

Wow! This looks much different from the caterpillars I see here in the city. This is a really cool shot. I'm really starting to appreciate photography more and more.

It is similar to a cactus. Good trophy @gavvet!

This is an incredible shot, you have a gift...but I have to admit, I keep hoping to see blogs that show off a bit more of that big brain of yours. I feel you are depriving us ;)
Also, it appears I was misinformed, as I was told 75 was the highest rep you could achieve on here. Unless yours is like infinity+1 lol

Last picture make me amazed. It is looks like thorn just tought it was. Resteemed.

They truly do look like thorns.

I need to get into macro photography more, its something I have not explored much. What camera and lens did you use for these shots?

Same, Nikon L840, very versatile, just need to figure out all its functions.

That is very impressive for a point and shoot, I might have to take a look into L840. Do you know if that is the latest model? I bet with a tripod you could probably catch a very detailed photo of the moon with the telephoto lens.

This model has been out a couple of years. It has a moon photography scene.

Nice post @gavvet, very interessting

Couldn't resist this comment.
Oh, what a prick.

That's a pretty cool looking caterpillar, where are they native?

Not sure, first time I have seen this type, but this one is photographed in South Africa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29