Subaru WRX STi - Composite Photoshoot (Round Two)

in #photography6 years ago

After last weeks test shoot, I was keen to get out and explore this newly discovered method of photography (new to me, at least). Fortunately, when I told a fellow Subaru owner about this idea, he was more than happy to come along and help out with ideas and angles.

We spent the entire Saturday afternoon and night visiting different locations and snapping hundreds of photos, which I will be hopefully posting up here on Steemit soon. But in the meantime, I just want to share the results of yet another composite photo that I created during the shoot.

And here it is!

MOTION1_v2_sml.jpg

The idea in theory is simple - place the car and get a good angle, and then take your first picture. Move the car out the way, and then take your second photo of the background (this is so you can blur the background to your hearts content without having to worry about the car being visible). Simply then cut out your car and place it in the scene.

Well, not actually so simple. This whole edit took me about two hours to get right.

Even though I'm much more satisfied with my blur editing abilities this time around, the shadow still irks me... anyone have some good suggestions on how to re-create a realistic looking shadow?

The two original photos:

IMG_4723_sml.jpg
First photo, checking the composition and making sure it would all work.

IMG_4726_sml.jpg
Second photo of just the background.

Stay tuned for the full photoshoot!

CameraCanon 6D
LensCanon 24-105 f4 L Series
Additional EquipmentManfrotto tripod / Hoya CPL Filter
ProcessingPhotoshop CC
LocationHillcrest, South Africa
Sort:  

Epic shot man! I look forward to seeing your other photos of this STI. 👍
I took this on a bridge outside of Sasebo, Japan last year:

Thanks man, nice to take some photos of my own car for a change :)

New shape looks good in black there, but still not sure if I'd buy one. Same engine, different body.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T18:51:39
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 334.79/400.00
Total Photos: 30
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This is a really cool effect @garethb. The shadow is looking good on our end and didn't notice too much of a difference between the original.

Thanks guys, think I've been staring at my Photoshop document too much :P It's all about the practice I guess.

All the way to Hillcrest for this..... Worth it! :D

Haha, there's a good reason for driving all that way, all shall be revealed soon ;)

Side note: had an epic run up the twisty road from Inanda Dam, proper Japanese touge stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55