Shooting Stars And Wrecked Cars - Boston, South Africa

in #photography6 years ago

While out and about on the hunt for a new starscape image, fate led me to a rather unusual scene that I thought deserved a photo - or at least, a photo attempt. Tossed on the side of a rural mountain road were the rather crumpled remains of what used to be a Land Rover, seemingly forgotten by time.

Naturally, curiosity got the better of me, so I stopped on the other side of the road and pulled out my camera equipment to see what I could create - with the help of my "lightwand".

Does that mean it's time for some lightpainting? You bet!

IMG_9776_sml_v2.jpg
Using an f-stop of only 1.4, all it took to illuminate the wrecked car was a few seconds of light from the light wand.

While this photo follows a fairly standard formula for starscapes, keeping both the car and stars in the focus wouldn't be possible, since not even the best camera can focus on two different objects that are millions of miles apart in the same frame. Figuring that I'd rather have a slightly blurred car instead of lots of blurred stars, I set my (manual) focus to one of the brighter stars you can see on the left side of the photo, waved the lightwand around the car a bit, and just like that - job done.

Being at the scene of what was no doubt a serious accident was making me feel a little uneasy, with the eerily silent surroundings not helping the mood much. A few photos down, I decided to call it a night for this particular location - besides, I think this photo was quite a fitting goodbye for what was certainly a well-used car that served a good purpose. May you live on forever in the heavens.

Fast forward 10 hours...

Since I wanted to examine the Land Rover in a better light and less creepy surroundings, I went back the following morning to see what I could find. As you can see, these old Land Rovers don’t have much in the way of structural integrity, and absolutely nothing in the way of airbags or safety features. The roof is nearly entirely gone, just hanging on by a thread on one side of the car.

DSC_1825.jpg

Fortunately, I didn’t find any bloodstains in the car, which I have come across before while digging through wrecked cars. Regardless, I’m sure whoever was driving this car ended up with some pretty serious injuries. Not wanting to be disrespectful, I left everything as it was when I found it - I need good karma when it comes to cars.

DSC_1826.jpg

DSC_1829.jpg
What is it with this area and destroyed cars? Only a few miles away from the Land Rover I found this burnt out shell of a Mazda hatchback

As I didn't plan to have my mom’s new Subaru Forester end up as an unintentional sacrifice to the car gods, I decided to keep pushing on and headed back home. Suspiciously, there’s an area not too far from here that comes up on Google Maps with the name “Car’s End”. Coincidence? I think not…

Screen Shot 2018-04-22 at 7.28.58 PM.png
Did you think I was joking?

CameraCanon 6D
Settings30 second exposure / f1.4 / ISO 800
LensRokinon 24mm f1.4
AdditionalManfrotto tripod, Yongnuo YN360 lightwand
ProcessingLightroom CC
Sort:  

wowww excellent shot and exposure! love it. congratulations my dear friend

Thanks for taking a look at it @artizm :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 20:43:06
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 267.69/400.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hello @garethb, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57