On The Wings Of A DJI Mavic Pro 2 - Southern Drakensberg, South Africa

in #photography3 years ago

It's been a while since I was active on any forms of social media - Steemit included. The reason? Well, I'm sure we all know what happened in 2020. The whole world basically went into meltdown, and I was just set on surviving. Thankfully, I did, and there's now a light at the end of the tunnel, and I'm feeling refreshed to start exploring again, and seeing what interesting photographic opportunities I can find.

DJI_0637_sml.jpg

First things first - my equipment was in dire need of upgrading. Out with the old, in with the new. So, say hello to my (new to me) DJI Mavic Pro 2. As a frequent flyer of the original Mavic Pro, I found myself yearning for better image quality, especially in low light.

With the new drone in hand, I needed a place to go test it out - and where better than the vast expanses of the Southern Drakensberg mountain range? Since it's about a three hour drive from where I live, I booked two nights away for a "holiday" - the running joke being that I work harder on my holidays than I do on regular days. Anyway...

DJI_0664_sml.jpg

It's often said that the early bird catches the worm, and the same can be said for these photos. Morning light just hits different - don't you agree?

In order to capture these photos, I dragged myself out of bed at 4am (far too early, it actually turned out), and drove a further half an hour to a valley shrouded in mist. Luckily, the beauty of photography with a drone is the ability to just fly up and above the haze, and capture the sunrise from a perspective usually only reserved for the birds.

DJI_0654_sml.jpg

DJI_0691_sml.jpg

With the re-introduction out the way, I have probably close to 1,000 new photos to share. With that in mind, let's get started again. I'll see you soon...

Equipment Setup

CameraDJI Mavic Pro 2
ProcessingLightroom CC / Photoshop CC
LocationSouthern Drakensberg, South Africa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66