Into The Valley - Drakensberg, South Africa

in #photography5 years ago

Waking up early for me is usually a pretty easy task. For example: twice a week, I'm in the pool by 5:30am to do a one mile swim, and still somehow remain functional to survive the work day, and then go back to gym for further training. Easy.

But when on holiday? Not so much...

However, on a trip / holiday to the Drakensberg mountains a few weeks ago, I was up and about at 4am every morning, shooting the full moon, and then moving locations to capture the sunrise about an hour later - it's summer here now, so the sun rises really early.

One morning while shooting footage for my drone compilation video that I finally got around to making (watch it here), I decided to land the drone for a little while and do some proper landscape photography - the surroundings were too good to pass up.

HippoPools_Panorama_sml.jpg

What you see above is a three image panorama, covering a nearly 180 degree view from one of my favourite places in the mountains - the Hippo pools. I've already shot many a sunset here, so being able to capture the golden sunrise glow across the valley was a good experience.

Obviously, this image here is very compressed, but full size it measures close to 10,000px wide. I think I see a new canvas print in the making!

Don't believe I was up that early? Here's some of the original file data:

Screen Shot 2018-12-08 at 9.04.39 PM.png

Equipment Setup

CameraCanon 6D
Settings1/30 / f8 / ISO 100
LensCanon 24-105 F4 L Series
AdditionalHoya CPL filter / Manfrotto tripod
ProcessingLightroom CC / Photoshop CC for panorama blending
LocationSouthern Drakensberg, South Africa

PS: Thanks to The Skids for the title!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94