Fear in the forest - I pimped my boring photo

in #photography6 years ago

'Fear is only as deep as the mind allows.'

Japanese Proverb

I'm really interested in photography and in post-processing, although my skills are still very limited. I keep trying to improve my abilities in this field by reading articles and watching tutorials.

You can find a lot of inspiring people online, there are so many talented, gifted authors around us.

My biggest inspirator is @ykdesign, her digital arts are simply marvelous.

I spent the last evening with learning and practicing and I'm sharing now the process and the outcome (the last photo of the post) of my steps.


The original photo

[GAB_0435.JPG]

This is the exported JPG of my original image I shot in RAW format. A RAW format file contains a lot more data than a JPG. @hetty-rowan wrote a great post on the advantages of RAW files, click here to read it.

I took this image in early April, it was cloudy and nature just started waking. As you can see, it's dark and gray, there's nothing interesting in it. I thought that it would be a perfect subject to practice because the composition is more or less ok.


Lightroom tuning

GAB_0435-Edit.JPG

Lightroom is one my favorite software which works with the extra data stored in the file of your photo. I tried to make it lighter, increased the contrast and the vibrancy, but it's still boring, it's out of the question.


Upgrade in Photoshop

GAB_0435-Edit-2-2.JPG

I used adjustment layers to add more colors to the image and I made it more sharp with the high pass filter. I selected the sandy road and changed the tones of it by using the tone curve. It looks much better now, but still boring.


All image has to tell you a story and I had a plan. I used the Exposure X4 software to add some special effect to the photo. I applied the Agfa color photo filter and a lens motion effect. It changed completely the atmosphere of the photo.

That became the final version of post-processing. Please, click on it to view in full screen and leave a comment.


Fear in the forest


GAB_0435-Edit-3.JPG
Click on the image to view full screen!


Categorynature photography
SettingsISO100; 75mm; f/13,0; 1/200sec
CameraNikon D5600
LensAF-S Nikkor 18-140mm; f/3,5-5,6
LocationHungary
OtherLightroom/Photoshop edited

If you are interested in photography, please have a look at my previous posts on Whaleshares
Tiny wonders of nature

Painted sky
The sailboat
Against the stream
Bittersweet orchard
Lights of the night
Resting bird
Anchored boat
Aviator
Whalecoin Photo Challenge - Ferrari
The jump
Riding a horse
The bremen town musicians
Morning dew by sunrise


I would appreciate your feedback in comments!

If you like the photo(s) in the post, please click on upvote and resteem buttons!
Thank you in advance!


banner2.jpg

Sort:  

Great job, my friend. Indeed, the editing gives a new life to photos. I really like the second edit (the photoshop version).
The last one has a huge impact however you cannot watch it for too long (this is what I feel, it gets my eyes wary). The overall feeling is the one fit for the season - you expect a ghostly appearence to make its presence known among the trees.
Congratulations, I believe you will master the photo editing pretty soon. 🙂

Thank you @roxy-cat, I'm doing my best. Yes, you're right, you cannot watch too long the last one, it's pulling you in, I think.
Why don't you join whaleshares.io? You can use crossposting services, you don't have to leave steemit. You could have better chances...
Maybe I can help you to get an account quicker.

Thank you for your reply, @gabeboy. I was thinking about joining whaleshares but I don't want to duplicate posts on two platforms. Would it be possible to have an account without linking it to Steemit?

It's not linked to Steemit at all. It's two different platforms and block chains, but they are using the same frontend. The rules are slightly different over there which I prefer. It's only up to you whether you post the same content on both of them or completely different.

Cool stuff. I'm going to check it and let you know whether I need help. Many thanks.

I applied for an account on whaleshares. How long does it take until I get approval?

That's what I wanted to avoid... It can take 3 weeks. I sent you a DM message.

wonderful edit, love your editing style. ❤

a nice catch
Happy day

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent

You can see our daily report in this link

Thank you @gabeboy for mentioning me :-) You did a wonderful job here!

Hey @hetty-rowan! Good to meet you here on the other side! :-D
I always mention what is worth mentioning! :-)

wow amazing editing dear friend..
Awesome imagination power..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77