First photoshoot with Canon 6D Mark II: Butterflies

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I've been interested in photography for several years now! And finally I finally got my hands on my very own camera - my first DSLR ever : The Canon 6D Mark II. It was released a few days ago, and I was more than ecstatic to start using it.

Since I didn't know how all the different functions of a DSLR worked, I youtubed my questions, and I've included two great videos at the end of this post for anyone who is getting started with a DSLR to explain aperture, shutter speed and ISO settings:

After shooting my cat and dog a few times, I decided to go out to the Museum of Natural History in Houston to the Butterfly exhibit, and below are my images. No where near perfect but not a bad start!

This place is gorgeous, hundreds of buttlerflies just flying around. There is a waterfall inside the museum, and it's simply photography heaven:

NNKV0185.JPG

I started with taking a few still pictures of these butterflies, and then I slowly started to get them in air! I was lucky enough to catch a few mid-air!

VLIB2728.JPG

SFNU6551.JPG

VOWM4166.JPG

GVEL8455.JPG

EPYG1810.JPG

AFVC9167.JPG

CKZG8719.JPG!

EHOF2528.JPG

ARVU1326.JPG!

EEIE2021.JPG

CELA6549.JPG!

UCHH4822.JPG

Comment or like to let me know how you felt about these! Follow me on instagram @ndeniz_sevinc for more travel pictures!

Sort:  

Welcome to the community, Funtimes!! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome to Steemit! funtimes, Upvote & Follow is ou great strength.
Let's try to get along.

Amazing pictures! Butterflies are hard to get a really good picture off, specially mid-air xD

Nice photos. What lens did you shoot with

Thanks!! Hi @tateshep I used a Canon EF ‑ 24mm‑70mm ‑ F/2.8. I've you have any tips to improve let me know! I'm still learning.

Hi @funtimes welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

@ionlysaymeep, nice to see you again, hope all is wonderful. You always make me laugh with the meep :)
You are welcome to visit my blog @fshllc comment with the meep and if you like anything then please upvote and resteem. have an awesome day :)

:)

Hi @funtimes , welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @pastorlea

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49