Portland Plants 7 - My photos from the first day of Spring!

IMG_1829.jpg

Portland Plants 7: Photos from the first day of Spring

It's raining and cold today, which is why I've been trying to take advantage of the sunlight every time the sun comes out. Our first day of Spring, in Portland, was glorious! I drove to a neighborhood that I hadn't photographed before and went out looking for plants.

The biggest stars of the outing were these awesome and funky white flowers. I must have seen 8 or 9 of these trees while I walked around. Does anyone know what their name is? I'm certain that I've seen these flowers before, but I don't know if I've ever really looked at them. From a distance, the trees look like shaggy Cherry Blossoms, but up close you can see how different the flowers are. I like that most of the flowers are deformed and misshapen. Not many of the flowers have identical shapes and postures. As corny as it sounds, to me it looks like the trees are in the middle of a dance party, all of the flowers doing their own thing.

Here are some of my photos from the first day of Spring in Portland, Oregon.

baby flourish.png

IMG_1762.jpg

Most of the trees were massive, like this one.

IMG_1768.jpg

I did spot a few small trees like this one.

IMG_1763.jpg

IMG_1770.jpg

IMG_1771.jpg

The flower in the background looks like it's already dying. It doesn't look like these flowers last very long. With the young ones still blossoming, I wonder if new flowers will keep popping up. Or do these trees only flower for a short time?

IMG_1824.jpg

IMG_1827.jpg

IMG_1828.jpg

IMG_1858.jpg

We don't have many wild animals out here, but I did spot a squirrel that was slow enough to take a picture of.

IMG_1857.jpg

IMG_1859.jpg

OK, I think that's enough of that plant. On to other stuff!

baby flourish.png

IMG_1810.jpg

This is my second favorite plant from the outing. I walked right by this bush without thinking about it, then the purple and blue caught my eye. The bush is ugly, but if you look close, there's some cool stuff going on here.

IMG_1808.jpg

I can't make any sense out of this plant. It looks like the purple flowers are squeezing out of the red berry-looking things, but it also looks like the berries are morphing into the flowers?

IMG_1804.jpg

IMG_1807.jpg

IMG_1811.jpg

This is what the bush looks like. Not very attractive, but I'm glad I stopped for a closer look.

baby flourish.png

IMG_1812.jpg

I've already got some photos of this kind of plant, but they're so freaky that I had to take more photos.

IMG_1814.jpg

This plant looks like something out of Little Shop of Horrors.

IMG_1815.jpg

IMG_1816.jpg

From a distance, they don't look like much. But up close they're like something from outer space.

baby flourish.png

IMG_1822.jpg

This was just a pretty flower that I spotted.

IMG_1819.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_1838.jpg

In my last post, I posted some photos of this plant when it was closed up. Here's an opened version. I'm not sure what the green ball-things are going to do, but I'm looking forward to seeing what happens.

IMG_1837.jpg

IMG_1833.jpg

IMG_1788.jpg

I love the shapes this kind of tree makes.

baby flourish.png

IMG_1794.jpg

I could be mistaken, but I believe this tree is a Cherry Blossom type of tree with the pedals off.

IMG_1793.jpg

IMG_1797.jpg

IMG_1799.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_1846.jpg

This photo reminds me of New Years in Thailand. The background reminds me of all of the floating lanterns flying up into the sky.

IMG_1849.jpg

I wanted to see what's inside, but they're not ready yet.

baby flourish.png

I think that's enough photos for one post. The weather isn't looking very good out here, so I need to save some photos so I'll have something to post in the next day or two.

I hope your first day of Spring was awesome where you live! And I hope the sun comes back so I can see what these plants are going to do next.

Sort:  

This is my Notification List. If you would like to be added or removed from this list, please reply to this comment.

@iddm1dm
@grr8-one
@doctorcrypto
@beatseb
@achraf7b
@surfdog
@originalworks
@steemchiller
@loveliness0427
@carlgnash
@jaichai
@derekcowan
@killerteesuk
@junny
@shaheem
@ganjafarmer
@pdxgal
@bluefoxy

So beautiful. Here is still winter, but this photos brought the spring into my home :)

I'm happy to brighten things up for you :) It's ugly and cold today, so it's nice to work on these photos and remember that the sun will be back.

Dude! These white flowers are the flowers that remind me of fireworks. But now that you said they look like they are having a dance party...That is all I can see.

These ones are super cool too!

Nice photos.My friends in Poland showed me some photos from there.It's so amazing

Wonderful photo!

Beautiful flowers bring such a joy after long winter. Thanks for sharing!

A beautiful photography of beautiful place such a beautiful photography of nature

U make me really want to buy a good camera 😔😔. Photos taken with my phone are suck :)))))

But it's so much nicer to only travel with a phone :) It's not fun to carry the camera bag everywhere and worry about it all the time.

Phones can take some good shots, but it helps to touch them up in a program like Lightroom.

wow , how great , flower is what i love most


Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post. No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service. we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : http://www.steemitfollowup.cf

DO NOT CLICK ON THIS! IT'S A SCAM.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74