Portland Plants 18 - More plants that I found in Portland! What the heck is this first flower?

IMG_3176.jpg

Portland Plants 18 :

These are some photos that I took on Monday. The weather was beautiful, but a little bit of wind made taking close-ups a bit more difficult. Not that I'm complaining! I'll take wind over rain any day.

My photo excursion was pretty successful. I found a few new plants and got some decent photos of some familiar plants. I also spotted a mystery plant that I'm excited to return to (if I can find it again).

Here are some of the photos that I took earlier in the week.

baby flourish.png

IMG_3179.jpg

I almost missed this amazing plant. I spotted it out of the corner of my eye and came in for a closer look. I'm glad I did.

IMG_3177.jpg

IMG_3182.jpg

A couple of the flowers weren't quite ripe yet.

IMG_3184.jpg

IMG_3175.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3039.jpg

At first I thought these purple/black flowers were tulips, but the shape of the petals has me thinking that this is a different type of flower.

IMG_3037.jpg

IMG_3043.jpg

IMG_3044.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3102.jpg

This flower is ugly (or sick?), but it's new to me so I'm including it.

IMG_3101.jpg

IMG_3105.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3109.jpg

This is some sort of blossom tree after the petals have fallen off. They have a kind of firework feel to them that I love.

IMG_3112.jpg

IMG_3113.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3135.jpg

Here's another one that isn't exactly beautiful. This is a baby flower that grows on a shrub or tree. It's almost like origami, the way the petals and leaves are all folded into each other.

IMG_3131.jpg

IMG_3129.jpg

IMG_3136.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3154.jpg

This plant is a mystery to me, and I really want to see what it's going to do. This was found in a small planter with a ton of these bulbs. This is the only bulb (or bud?) that was starting to crack open.

IMG_3152.jpg

IMG_3155.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3160.jpg

I'm pretty sure I've featured this flower before. That won't stop me from featuring it again. There's something about the simple elegance of this flower that makes me feel good.

IMG_3159.jpg

IMG_3169.jpg

IMG_3163.jpg

IMG_3164.jpg

I know this shot is out of focus, but the feeling I get from this shot won't be ignored.

baby flourish.png

IMG_3207.jpg

This is a really strange flower. They grow on trees that look more like an explosion at a neon factory than trees.

IMG_3200.jpg

From this angle, the flowers almost look like shoes. From other angles, they look like poisoned insects.

IMG_3203.jpg

IMG_3209.jpg

IMG_3213.jpg

baby flourish.png

I'm going to end this post here. On this excursion, I took some videos of a few of the plants, but the plant photos didn't make the cut for this post (except the neon tree directly above). I think I'll make a smaller post with the video and photos. Stay tuned for that.

I hope Spring is treating you well, where ever you may be located. When you're out and about, be sure to stop and smell the roses (or other flowers, depending on the season).

Sort:  

great photography mate. you can add me to your list.

I think you were the individual with the Vietnam blogs! And yes, I was smoking myself to death in Nam >.<

Sweet! I'll add you to the list. Thanks for signing up!

those are some great photography, dude.

Aw I'm from Portland (sometimes)! Wish we were there at the same time so I could show you all the cool local stuff!

Hit me up if you come for a visit. I'll probably be here for a couple of years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87