Focus on the Ladybug

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

This morning, with the freshness of day dawning, I was in my garden to harvest some vegetables and that's where I got the surprise of an unexpected visit ...

This is my insecticide and pesticide.

The best known and most common is the Ladybug "Seven Points" is the friend of the gardener! The Ladybug helps fight against aphids in the most ecological way possible: by devouring more than 200 aphids per day !!!

Sort:  

Steem on

Wonderful article! Always willing to follow a fellow gardener.

I saw a massive praying mantis outside the grocery store this morning and couldn't help but wish for it to hang around my yard instead of parking lots. Had a terrible problem with grasshoppers this year and our mantis eggs never hatched!

Plenty of ladybugs around, though, and have yet to run into problems with aphids. Love these permaculture-related posts and hope to read more.

It's nice to see one of the native ladybugs. I see so many photos of the invasive Harlequin ladybug in different places. The Lost Ladybug Project (http://www.lostladybug.org) asks people to report their ladybugs, to help document how the little beetles are faring. Kids are especially good at helping out, because they are close to the ground and love ladybugs. But Steemit gardeners might be good ladybug reporters, too! : )

I just realized that you are in France, so the Lost Ladybug Project doesn't really apply to your cute ladybug. But I will leave it here, in case other Steemit gardeners read it. Happy gardening!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41