Go again

in #photography5 years ago

After reading all the advice for beginners, I decided that my first post was not good enough. Yes, I will be sharing photos, some art and some writing but, I decided that sharing it “as is” was not something I wanted to do here. I love the idea of bringing value to the community and I want to do that. I’ve always struggled with this, finding my own value. I have very little college education, I’m pretty technologically stunted but, it turns out, I could have something to say. If I can push back against the social anxiety that keeps me reserved and private, maybe I can connect with other people and bring value. I don’t know, we’ll see.

Since I was small I loved to draw, paint and write, I got into photography later on. Someone put it in my head that unless I am passionately driven to create art 24/7, I can’t be a real artist. Hearing that stung quite a bit and I believed it for many years. Instead, I became a bartender, a beer truck driver, a stay-at-home dad and a paramedic but, not all at once. There was a brief period during which I owned and operated a graphics and screen printing company. It’s failure in crash of 2007 strengthened the notion that I couldn’t be successful in art. Maybe not but, I have come to understand that it’s not about being successful. Expression has to be for expression’s sake. That may seem like an obvious fact but, it was a hard one for me to get.

I have very few regrets however. My path has brought me to where I am. I have been delivered here a little scarred and damaged but with a deep well of experience. So, it’s my thinking that I can share some of that stuff here. Good and bad, for better or worse…and in spite of the voice that says, “Dude, no one wants to hear whatever it is you have to say.”
This is me setting fire to my fear and sense of inferiority._MG_4522.jpg

Sort:  

Hey that's a good decision, just keep posting and interacting!! Introduction is just a beginning there is a lot of scope.. I love taking pictures with my Smartphone too. I call them Smartphone winks. Check out my posts if you wanna see some crazy, interesting stuff from India! All the best. Keep posting that's the key to growth here. Cheers!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I appreciate the encouragement.
I’ll check out your posts.

Congratulations @frefferton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I don’t think anyone can be passionately driven 24 x 7. But if it’s something you keep coming back to, that you can’t completely clear from your head, I think you’re a ”real” artist.

And welcome to Steem! I’ve been hanging around over 2 1/2 years... (can that be right?!? Geez.) and while I don’t know everything, I’ll gladly answer anything I can. This place can have a bit of a learning curve, but I’ve found it to be very worthwhile. Take care!

Thank you very much.

Welcome @frefferton!! You'll do fine here from what I can see!!! Can't wait to see what you have in store for us!

Thank you! You’ve got some excellent photos yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93