Beautiful Backyard Mushrooms - Part 17 (STINKHORN!)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Exotic Impressions

Yesterday I was taking down my little backyard greenhouse for the winter. While sorting through all the pots strewn across the ground and navigating tall overgrown blades of grass, I came across something extremely odd.

I nearly stepped on it! Camouflaged in green, it blended well with the overgrown grass. But to my surprise I was treated to the weirdest looking mushroom that I've ever seen.

It seemed to grow tall and slender, looking like a morel mushroom. Perhaps it is a variety of morel, but with its icky green gooey coating, I wasn't about to eat one.


Image: @freeinthought original

This is Part 17 of my ongoing series chronicling the amazing variety of mushrooms growing naturally in my very own backyard. Please check out my past posts if you're interested in mushrooming!

Beautiful Backyard Mushrooms - Part 16

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. So if you feel so inspired, please up-vote, comment and re-steem.

Camera: Samsung Galaxy S2

Free In Thought


UPDATE - 6:00 PM EST OCT. 30 2017


I since did a minor bit of research and came to understand that this mushroom is actually a....

Phallus Impudicus

It is also more commonly know as Stinkhorn mushroom. And if I recall there was a sewer-like smell in the area of the mushroom while I took pictures. I just didn't realize it was coming from the mushroom.

It is definitely NOT edible (who would want to even it was?)




image: @freeinthought original


image: @freeinthought original


image: @freeinthought original


image: @freeinthought original


image: @freeinthought original


image: @freeinthought original



Images and Audio used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

My YouTube Channel

Sort:  

Fascinating. They look a bit nasty and even named after Phallus. Take the photos and get rid of them I reckon.

No doubt. They're gone now. Still was an interesting find. Thanks for your comment and vote. I really appreciate it.... :)

Congratulations! In addition to the vote from @randowhale, you also received a vote from @randowhaletrail!

UPDATE

I since did a minor bit of research and came to understand that this mushroom is actually a....

Phallus Impudicus

It is also more commonly know as Stinkhorn mushroom. And if I recall there was a sewer-like smell in the area of the mushroom while I took pictures. I just didn't realize it was coming from the mushroom.

It is definitely NOT edible (who would want to even it was?)

@fatimakhan @goel.tarun @bescouted @foodhaven

That's interesting!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 83.0% @flameburst upgoat, thanks to @freeinthought
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @freeinthought to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I have never seen one like that before. Perfectly camouflaged. Looks weird though.

Thanks for commenting. I've since updated the post and added a comment identifying the mushroom. Have another look if interested. Thanks!

Are these edible?

Not sure. I wouldn't recommend it though. They look like they taste nasty...

haha. Yes, I agree. They do look nasty going by their shape and color.

wow Nice click and thanks for sharing 💕

Those are some of the strangest stinkhorns I’ve seen.

No doubt. Thanks for stopping by.

What the hell is that!!! lol At first looks like a poo, then it looks like a chocolate mushroom, not that these two have anything in common, but... Really weird, never seen anything like that. What a find!

I don't know. That's what I thought initially also. The coating is a sticky dark green color. It's almost like a layer of latex paint. It looks like the spores are released through the top. I didn't want to touch it but if you squeezed the body, I'm certain I would have inhaled a puff of mushroom spores.

I've never see such a mushroom myself before either. Neat though!

Yeah, it's really cool :) It's good you did not squeeze it, might me something else lol

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @freeinthought to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77