Venus rising on a starry morning

in #photography7 years ago

cropped.jpg

Since getting my full spectrum camera I wanted to do some night shots. With my camera's sensor unimpeded I took 20 second shots with an aperture between 3.5 and 5.6

P1130586.jpg

It was astonishing how many points of light I could see. With my naked eye I think I can only see a fraction of them. Probably due to the long 20 second exposures, I also suspect my cameras sensitivity to UV and IR would have a lot to do with it.

I noticed a dim and hazy green color to the sky. From the research i did i think it may be Airglow. I have never seen this green glow. Only a red hue caused by light pollution. Luckily this spot was pretty far away from any major cities.

P1130591.jpg

If you use DarkSiteFinder, it would be listed as a off yellow area. I plan on using this app to find some great places.

P1130613.jpg

About three hours before sunrise a bright object showed up in the sky. Some searching came up with the object being Venus.

P1130609.jpg

I have heard about how bright it is, but never got to see it with such little light pollution. It seemly lit up the sky around it.

In hindsight, I should have used a higher ISO. Most of the shots were in 400. From the searching I it would seem you want 800+ for night shots. Also I had trouble focusing, but ill get the hang of it in the future.

Sort:  

Nice ! :)

Nice photos! So many different colors of light! I am fanatic for astronomy and watching stars...It is incredible that we watch the past of these stars,because they are so many light years far from us...But Venus is Earth's twin sister and it looks incredible in the night sky,because it is the shiniest..Well done!

nice pic
professional photography
see my post if you have little time
i hope you like
thank you
@keval

Congratulations @freedomcoin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71