The Beautiful Garden of King Louis XIII

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

On the east side of Paris lies the garden Jardin des Plantes, home to ~7000 different specimens stretched along an almost one-kilometre long garden.

The garden is only a 5-minute walk from my apartment, making it my favourite place to go and get lost in thought on a fine day. Since today was one of those days, I figured I would take some photographs worthy posting on steemit. I hope you will enjoy a little tour in my little backyard!

20170715_151031.jpg
The Jardin des Plantes garden in Eastern Paris
Picture taken by me

As soon as you enter the park you are met with a spectacular view of the Grande Galerie de l'évolution. Once a Castle to King Luis, it has since become the Gallery of Zoology in Paris. At its feet, the garden Jardin des Plantes stretches eastwards in a straight line, with unique flowers and plants at both sides.

Map of Jardin des Plantes

Whenever I walk in these gardens I feel like I'm transported to another world. The garden is a true relic of the past from when European were travelling the world, for better or worse, and bringing home rarities from wherever they could be found. The garden hosts flowers, herbs and animals from all countries in which France have set foot. It was quite fashionable in Europe back in the 17th and 18th century to be a botanist. Advancing medical sciences, and enriching the spectacles of European cities, provided strong motivation for botanists to join journeys abroad to collect specimens and knowledge of different herbs and their potential power, as well as bringing some back. As can be seen on the map, the garden contains everything from vegetations, animals and botanical gardens.

The garden was first created by King Louis the XIII in 1635 as the Royal Medicinal Plants Garden and has since grown to become the main site of the National Museum of Natural History.

20170715_150357.jpg
Sculpture of King Louis the XIII at the entrance of the garden

20170715_153535.jpg

20170715_151149.jpg

20170715_151142.jpg

20170715_151415.jpg

20170715_151431.jpg

20170715_153219.jpg

20170715_150947.jpg

20170715_150748.jpg

20170715_153702.jpg

20170715_152311.jpg

20170715_152307.jpg

20170715_153107.jpg

20170715_152417.jpg
All photos are taken by me

I feel really lucky to have just a wonderful place right outside my home. Whether it be for jogging, walking, or just relaxing, it's a real enrichment. The beauty of the garden is sure to inspire you in at least one way. For me, it is, therefore, the perfect place to go when you just need some time alone to think about life, some trouble you're experiencing, some dreams or ambitions I may have, or more importantly, what to write next on steemit.

Hope you enjoyed the tour of the garden! I'll be back early next week with more spacey stuff, so stay tuned!

@Fredrikaa

Sort:  

Beautiful!

Always great to see your posts Fredrik. But this time is even better, just love to see different gardens from around the word.
Like my job is to take care of all beautiful gardens, and big respect to you for catch great images.
Cheers !!!

Very glad that you like them :) Always interesting to see if people who follow my blog are also interested in other topics than the ones I specialize in. So very happy to read your comment!

Sounds like a nice job to have imo. Flowers and gardens are such an enrichment to life:)
Take care!

Wow!! This is stunning!

It must be so peaceful. I can just imagine the fresh air and the scent of the flowers

Which camera do you have?

Oh, just my phone Samsung Galaxy S8. Its camera is really nice though. You hardly notice any difference (or at least I don't) on the images where the sun is shining from the right angle, although some images like the first one you notice that it's not quite the same as f you had a pro-camera, such as the picture seen below :P

It's very peaceful indeed. I often just walk there and sit on a bench with earplugs and a podcast. Can sit there then for an hour or two with my eyes closed and just fade away ^^

Sounds amazing! They should have classical music playing and cats serving cake 😸. Or just cake and music lol.

Your pics are really good 👏🏻

Wow, this has inspired me to go to the Shanghai Botanical garden for some pics. The red-alert heatwave has passed so could be a good opportunity for some nice photos like this without me actually dying.

It's never going to be as lovely as anything in Paris I suppose, but worth a trip!

Happy that you liked them @mobbs and love hearing that I may have inspired you to go for a walk on your own! :) Taking other steemians to new places of the world is one of the things that makes this platform so awesome!

What great pictures and wonderful description.

Honestly, whenever I read things from europe such as this my mind really tries to picture myself being in the 17th century and how these spaces were occupied and how the people at the time were.

Thanks for the great post. Made me imagine a fantasy of living in the 17th-century just for crazy different atmosphere it must of had.

Nice pictures! Jardin du Luxembourg used to be my reading place when I was living in Paris . That city has amazing parks... but they close so early in summer.

You are incredibly lucky indeed. Thank you for sharing this beautiful garden with us. I think my favorite photo was with the bumblebee. Also, I am looking forward to your more spacey stuff. ^^

Wow... really beautiful! Indeed, looks like a trip back to the past... reminds me a little of the Botanical Gardens in Copenhagen, which were quite close to my aunt's house when I was growing up. Of course, back then I just wanted to feed the ducks at the ponds... but I have been back as an adult, and it is always like a "green breathing space" in the middle of the city. Thanks for sharing this!

Happy that you liked it :)

Awesome man. Really cool. If I lived 5 mins away, i'd be here every day :D

You are very lucky to have such a fantastic garden in your back yard. Thanks for the tour. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67