Wide Angle Wednesday: Mankato Center (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Happy #wideanglewednesday!

Getting out ahead of the afternoon heat-up, I went for coffee and a photo-walk. It was a nice morning for a walk, and I even managed to get my shirt dirty, thanks to a couple of my neighbors' wily puppies (no photo).

MNM18061320180613-EOS_2793.jpg
Lilly Buds
The buds all seem to be pointing to the flower in the foreground, which was probably about six inches from the front of the lens. It's almost Fathers' Day, and lilies seem to bloom around this time every year.

MNM18061320180613-EOS_2779.jpg
Stop Light?
A photo of when you contract the wrong company to install a stop light at the intersection...

MNM18061320180613-EOS_2792.jpg
Twin Domes
My, what a big fire hydrant you have!

MNM18061320180613-EOS_2786.jpg
Who Arted?
This is one of Mankato's many street sculptures and is a metal ballerina bending over backwards.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

This looks like a steampunk-inspired ballerina :) Did you lay down on the ground to take that shot?

Thanks, Dan! The ballerina is up on a bit of a pedistal, but I did have to be a little creative with camera plcement.

😊 Interesting sculpture 🤸‍♀️

Wow, nature is the most beautiful thing.

Interesting selection of photographs @fotosdenada. I particularly like the ballerina. 😊

Fun walk. You found some interesting things - too bad you didn't get the wily puppies and dirty shirt. That would have been epic. I love hydrant.

Good on your first (or second) #wideanglewednesday. The rain has stopped....I'll try to get out after dinner. :)

Edit - I tried and failed. I wasn't sure about the lighting - and I picked a semi boring place. I'll have to read up on how to and do better.

Here's my first try.....and I did b&w bc it was meh. :)

DSC_1911.jpg

Most of the shots were really bad lighting and it's too bad, the sky was blue blue blue and the sun was low in the trees creating lots of long shadows. Maybe it was the wrong technique or just the wrong location for wide shots.

The perspective in your photo is interesting, and I like those long shadows behind. Wide-angle shots are tricky, because they're a lot different than how we see, stretching distance from close to far, but not side-to-side.

My favorite use for the ultra-wide lens is still dog noses... lol

I went out to the waterfall and tried some light painting. Most of the shots were sort of pathetic, but the falls photos look promising. They may have to wait for tomorrow to be processed, though.

Can't wait to see those photos. I'll bet they are going to be so interesting and sparkly. You must include even a pathetic shot - I'd like to see what you think pathetic looks like.

Dog noses for ultra wide....lol. I'll have to give that a try. I spent a couple of hours reading about wide lens tutorials and learned a lot. Next lesson I'll be more focused and prepared as this technique should always be purposeful. I'll have to come up with a couple of practice places.

So far, they're not as nice in post as I had hoped, but that's the way things go... Last night while trying to get the waterfall right, I was thinking it would be really useful to have an assistant.

Too bad more people (including me) don't have fisheye leneses. Fisheye Friday would be a lot of fun, especially during Lent. You could do a fisheye photo of a fancy fish fry.

@fotosdenada 's Fisheye Friday's fancy fish fry.....fun!

... fantastic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56