The Minnesota Melt (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

Things are getting even busier here, but the the weather has warmed significantly. It was impossible to resist going out and enjoying the sunlight an comparatively warm temperatures.

MM201920190321EOS_0043.jpg
Triple Falls meets the Blue Earth River

Of course, the rainstorms followed by warm temperatures have led to flooding. It wasn't nearly as bad as predicted, but the river is quite high. As you can see from the photo, the waterfall now flows directly into the river. This is usually ten feet above the water level of the river, and its bank is usually about fifty feet downstream from the falls.

MM201920190321EOS_0062.jpg
Iceboogers

There are very few ice formations left. One, a large column stuck to the side of the rock, will likely last awhile longer. These icicles look like they'll be gone sone, though. While taking this photo, I heard an unnerving "crack" sound that reverberated through the area.

MM201920190321EOS_0084.jpg
From the Top

Here's a view from above the top tier of the waterfall. It almost looks like a Frankenstein attempt to Photoshop a river and a landscape together.

MM201920190321EOS_0030.jpg
The Cliché... Kinda

Everyone's taken the "Floating Leaf" photo. I think it's a requirement of owning a camera or something. I found one that didn't float, though! There was something causing bubbles to come up around the edges of it, but I wasn't able to figure out what it was. The weather is warm enough that I've seen the first insects on the breeze already, although they seem rather dazed and confused by the chhilly air.

Now, it's time to get back to work. I have homework, test corrections, and a portfolio that are all in need of some quality time.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

So glad you got out to take those photos (love the ice boogers, lol) The weather on the west coast has been really really warm. Basically no snow up here in the (un)frozen north. Someday, I'd like to live where there is JUST one season and you don't have to do massive amounts of yard work :)

Wow, that sounds nice! We still have snow-ice formations where it was piled up, but it's melting fast. The huge 2.5 meter snow pile is now a 1 meter block of ice.

I'd definitely like to be back in southern Spain. They have seasons, where I lived, but snow wasn't a part of them.

I missed this post, and now it's 8 days old! Great photos, though! That icicle photo is so beautiful! Hope you are feeling more caught up?

Thanks!

I've missed quite a few posts, myself. Last weekend was spent on the capstone project, but it's mostly done! I just have to have a few documents reviewed. I've already had them looked at and done the revisions. I also got roped into helping with a language conference the university's hosting and also helping out with a tech writing class' translation project.

I should have gotten much more done today, but decided to blow everything off and get outside. There's plenty of work to get done this weekend.

It sounds like you needed a day outside! I hope everything flows together smoothly for you over the weekend!

Glad you all didn't get too much flooding. My dissertation advisor in SD got flooded out of her office from a massive snowstorm then a bunch of rain. Here in TN around the same time we finally got some nice blue skies for the first time all winter. I bet it'll feel good to take some spring pictures soon one you are free of snow and ice.

Good luck with all your school projects. I've been off dissertating away and thought I'd see how you were doing finishing up. I'll be so happy when I'm done. My body is so sore from sitting and writing so much.

Thanks! I know how you feel. Something about leaning over a keyboard and craning your neck to see the screen for so many hours...

I spent all weekend on projects that are included in the capstone project and have been dragging all week. I've also been roped into helping with an undergraduate conference at the university and helping a random technical writing class.

Good luck with your dissertation and the defense. I don't know about you, but I'm planning on celebrating when this is over!

Howdy sir fotosdenada! I'm so glad that the flooding wasn't bad after all that snow, that's pretty amazing isn't it? Great pictures of the falls though, I bet the place is gorgeous in the summer too.

Thanks!

The flood wasn't bad, but the workload is. I hope to get a chance to actually read some posts tomorrow, but I'm just jumping on for a quick break before recording a 15-20 minute video. Ugh!

Hope things are going well for you down there in TX!

howdy sir fotosdenada! things are wonderful here, thank you. You take care of yourself and don't stress yourself out.

Great photos @fotosdenada. BUT I want to know what was causing that bubble!!!!!! 😁 😁 😁

Enjoy your weekend. I hope you don't have too much marking to do.

Thanks! I wanted to know what was causing the bubles, too, but it didn't want to cooperate! I watched for quite a while. It would have been nice to see the beavers swimming around, too, but they are probably still sleeping off the winter.

I spent most of today working on personal reflections about aspects of my master's program. I have one left to do, which needs to be done before I go to bed. I'd also like to get the exams done, but they're all hand-written and my eyes and dyslexia are a major hindrance. The rest of the weekend will be other assignments, but I hope to get out and see th sun, too.

Dear fotosdenada:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47