The Blinky Way Galaxy (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

Sometimes you see a good photo and take it. Other times, it can involve a little planning. Yesterday, I posted a few photos of fireflies that I took near a little graveyard in a spot I know fairly well. Last night, though, I did a little planning.

Pouring over an online light pollution map and Google Maps satellite images, I located a spot with relatively low ambient light, a nearby river, and a field. I headed out just as the sun was setting, so that I'd have time to do a little driving around to pinpoint a good location.

... and here it is!

MM201920190626EOS_3655.jpg
Nike Cloud?!

Unlike in previous night photography runs, nobody called the police on me this time! The area was remote enough that only two vehicles even passed during the few hours I was working. I even found a service driveway for some electrical box, so I wasn't in the road. As the last light of sunset slowly faded away, the fireflies began sparkling and the Milky Way, little by little, became visible in the southern sky.

MM2019luciernagas6.jpg
Galactic Bugs

Here's a multiple-shot long exposure. My camera can't run for more than about three minutes anymore, or it locks up, so I took muultiple shorter long-exposures and used Photoshop to merge them. I didn't bother removing the airplane that flew through. There were a lot of other things blinking, after all. The image is about equivalent to fifteen minutes' worth of exposure.

The next two photos are similar to each other, but I wanted to include them both. They are both single 15-second exposures. As if the Milky Way and fireflies weren't enough, look cloesly at the top-right corner of this photo and you'll see a shooting star!

MM201920190626EOS_3744.jpg
The Green Stars Move

And finally, my absolute favorite photo of the evening. At ISO 3200, I was pushing my camera beyond it's technical capability and did a lot of post-processing in Lightroom and even a bit in Photoshop. The result was worth it, though!

luciernagas5.jpg
The Blinky Way

The mosquitos, as anticipated, were awful! I wore jeans and a long-sleeved shirt and used two types of bug spray. It probably helped, but I still have itchy bites everywhere they could stick their little needle-beaks. It was worth it, though!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! I've been meaning to try a shot of the milky way. Sure appreciate you taking the shots...hope you don't have to top up at a blood bank from the lose you keep sustaining :)
Crazy with the heat wave in Spain isn't it?

Ugh... My poor friends over there have been talking about it. It's even hot in Canarias, which is unusual. It's surrounded by water, which usually helps regulate that.

What lenses do you have for your camera? If you can get one of those L-series ultra-wide lenses, those are amazing for astro photography. They're not cheap, though. The EF 16-35mm would be a great lens for that. They also make a 14mm L-series lens, but it’s more expensive. The 16-35 is a really versatile walk-around lens. Do you have a sturdy tripod and a wireless remote?

Thanks so much for the info! I do have a sturdy tripod and the lens that came with my D5 Mark IV was an uber beautiful red line 24-105mm. Pretty sad to have such an amazing camera in my hands opposed to someone like you that would use it to it's fullest.

It would be nice to be able to upgrade. Maybe if I actually find a lucrative job.

The mosquitoes were definitely worth it! I love the last picture.

The mosquitoes were
Definitely worth it! I
Love the last picture.

                 - suesa


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thanks! Yeah, that last one is my favorite firefly photo so far. The local photography club's monthly "assignment" is insects and/or flowers, so I'll send that one in along with a nice macro.

Good work @fotosdenada I guess I had to check this also out with my more than a decade old D40 haha yes ive used your words but i guess when your work ist so expressive my old D40 must bring nearly the same results, lets wait and see first I have to get a tripod ;)
Zwischenlinie-2 für Steem-Post 940x120.png
with sunny greetings from Andalusia

Don Thomas

It's difficult with the old equipment. If you don't mind star trails, they're fine. Getting the Milky Way involves being in a very dark area and being able to shoot at 15second exposure or less. Even 15 seconds is on the long side, and stars will start to look more like a "-" than a dot.

yes I know very well because for me its easy to produce this stripes without using a tripod hihi ;)
Zwischenlinie-2 für Steem-Post 940x120.png
with sunny greetings from Andalusia

Don Thomas

Dang! These are awesome! That last one looks downright professional! You didn't mention yesterday that someone called the cops on you. That's a little funny and highly annoying. I guess skulking around in the dark with a camera could look a little suspicious. Ah, the things we do for art! Cops and mosquitoes.

Ha, well I haven't had them called on me yet this summer. Last year, I was taking photos during the meteor shower in the most remote gravel road in the middle of nowhere and some farmer called the cops on me. They sat their with their headlights pointed right into my camera, too, just to make sure they destroyed the photo. He even called another officer, because it wasn't really his jurisdiction, so I ended up talking to two officers. I've head them called on me for taking photos of the huge Herman the German monument by the volleyball team who, obviously, thought they were so hot that I had to be taking their photos. With a tripod. Oh, and i had a security guard threaten me with the FBI for taking photos of an oil refinery from the public road.

Honestly, if people actually took a moment to think or or maybe just talk to me, they would realize that calling the cops isn't necessary...

No kidding! Maybe you just look like a thug. Your pictures are worth the rap sheet, in my opinion!

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy sir fotosdenada! your sacrifice was our gain! Well done, those are amazing shots! I figured heavy bug spray would work but you say they don't?

Thanks!

I used two different types of spray and it never works for mosquitos. They track you by your breathing, so sprays don't really throw them off much. Now, if I had some sort of mask that scrubbed the CO2 from my breath, it might work. I'd prefer trained tree frogs stuck to my neck and riding on my hat, though. Maybe a fleet of hungry dragonflies.

lol! well if you go the latter route be sure and take some selfies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49