Snowy Saturday (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

It's been awhile since my last post, and it may be awhile until the next one. Things have been very busy, here, with my own graduate coursework becoming ever more demanding and the Spanish 101 class that I teach needing a lot of extra work. I did get a couple chances to go out for a few quick photo runs, though!

MM201820181117-EOS_7990.jpgRefusing To Fall

This tree has been dead since I arrived in Mankato two years ago and still refuses to fall. High wind, snow, bitter cold... None of these have managed to topple the twisted wreck. It is very photogenic, though! The contrast between living and dead is even more stark in the summer, when the surrounding trees are covered in lush, green leaves.

MM201820181117-EOS_8001.jpgMorning Meeting

Minneopa State Park's bison herd seem to be getting their winter coats, at last. Today, they were lazing around at the edge of their patch of prairie. Well, Saturday's a good day to be lazy.

MM201820181116-EOS_7976.jpgLay and snowcone

When the snow began falling last night, I made a quick walk downtown with the camera and saw the lady-and-a-baby statue covered in snow. That must be one very cold metal infant!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Love the dead tree! (and of course the morning meeting, lol) We got back to the frozen North and I'm not finding it too photogenic. Always impressive that you can make even dead stuff have life!!!

Thanks! This whole snow and cold busniess... I didn't miss it, living in southern Spain!

Great photos! I love that old tree! Those dead ones that can stand for so long have so much character. I had a big old oak tree in the backyard that had been struck by lightning about 15 years ago and it remain standing right up until this spring when all of a sudden no wind no storms it just fell over. I think it was just tired. But it sure provided me with a lot of fun photo opportunities over the years.

We got some snow last night maybe an inch and I got a few photos today, nothing too exciting though. Good luck with your classes I hope you don't get so busy that you can't stop in occasionally!

That's quite awhile for a dead tree to stay standing! One got stuck at my parents house years ago. Somehow, the arc blew a strip of bark off. We found one 5' strip about 150' away. Surprisingly, the tree survived!

The same thing happened with mine only it blew a chunk of the tree out along with the bark. It was midsummer and the tree was in its prime and that lightning seemed to weld those leaves right onto the branches. They turned brown and stayed there for 3 years before they finally fell. The blast knocked pictures off the walls in the house.

Sábado perezoso y domingo también! ;) jajajaj Mucho ánimo con las clases y la nueva semana! :)

Gracias y igualmente. A ver si hoy tengo la oportunidad de ver el mundo.

I've got some sort of virus so the cold weather here is extra hard to bare. Seeing all that snow makes my body ache. Good luck with then rest of the semester. I'm slowly chugging away at my dissertation. November is such a busy month.

Good luck with the dissertation. I'm definitely not going any further than the master's degree. The dyslexia and vision have made the masters program difficult enough!

ehy Mark, como va la semana? espero que todo bien por ahi :) un saludo!

Por aquí buen ocupado pero bien. Día de acción de gracias me ha dado un poco de tranquilidad y una oportunidad de ponerme al día con unas tareas.

Espero que todo bien por ahí y que estés disfrutando del fin de semana :-)

Jejejej si gracias, por aqui todo bien y comenzando el finde 😊👍aprovecharé xa ver a unos amigos y celebrar el cumpleaños d uno de ellos 😊🍾. Ya he visto k tu has disfrutado de accion d gracias cn la familia y que sigues siendo un profesional de las calabazas! Jejejj

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83