Robins: Here We Go Again (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

Some of you will remember that the robins were nesting above my parents' deck and, while watching the dogs for them, I got some pretty up-close and personal photos. Meanwhile, back in Mankato, they had built a nest above a house light, right next to my door. That nest was abandoned, but... they're back!

And it's #featherdfriday by @melinda010100, too. Good timing!

MM201920190620EOS_3489.jpg
Mouthy Idiot Bird

There is discussion about how intelligent birds are, nowadays. Studies pop up, occasionally, talking about how crows recognize faces or how some bird has learned to use tools. Robins aren't one of these smarter bird varieties. The nesting pair flies off every time I use the door and procede to yell at me from near by. At least they're photogenic!

So, how close is the nest to my door?

MM201920190621EOS_3494.jpg
Terrible Housekeeping

The door literally opens within inches of the nest. They weren't the best builders either, judging by the trailing bits off to the left of the light fixture. The roof is just out of the image, which isn't enough clearance to take a photo into the nest with my DSLR. I did get one with the mobile phone, though!

EGGcellent.jpg
Breakfast?

I apologize for the image quality in that last one. Mobile phone images aren't my specialty.

Lastly, I saw this one out at the state park. I'm not ornithologist, and have no idea what it is so, if any of you know what type of bird it is, feel free to enlighten me. Google claimed it was a chickadee or a shrike. I've never seen a shrike, but it didn't look like the photos and, if it is a chickadee, it is some sort of mutant one on steroids. This thing was bigger than the robin!

MM201920190620EOS_3459.jpg
Watching You

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Feathered friday...awesome!!! I slammed a robin in the grill of my vehicle this morning headed out the driveway. Thanks for the chuckle with the title of the egg photos (breakfast, lol)

They seem to be on the dumb end of the bird kingdom, don't they? Hrm... Does that count as "grilled" robin? Lol

That's priceless!

Great photos! That first one is spectacular! Do you I think that last bird could be a Phoebe? I'm not certain that I can positively identify it in the picture, it would help if I could see its wings, but when you see a Phoebe sitting like that the way I recognized them is the bobbing of their tail. Even when they are sitting still they bob their tail up and down

Thanks! I couldn't see it's tail up in the tree, but it could be. It didn't want to turn around and give me a side view. I wish I could have gotten closer, but that was at 200mm and as tele as I can go.

The colors on the first shot are amazing 🙂 This is the first time I get to see Robin's eggs, are they always blue?

Thanks. The eggs are blue until they hatch, anyway. I saw there's another egg this morning. They usually lay 3-4, so she may not be done yet.

It's strange, predators are most likely to spot them if they have such a distinctive color🤔

Great shots of them and cool you showed us their nest, I love that sun thingy one the wall it is so cool

To misquote my dad: "When someone said they were passing out brains, the robins thought they said trains, and they didn't like those any more than a guy walking right by their nest, so they passed." Or something like that. Either way, they aren't the smartest bird, as you say. Though also, as you say, I've read a lot about crows, and they are incredibly(!) smart. Though I'll spare you my anecdotal stories here.

Nice photos, I really like the bird on the peak. And the eggs are so...Robin-y. Sky blue and all. You always have the most interesting posts about the daily going-on's of everyday life. Cheers to a great weekend. (I think you are all done with the school thing...ya-aay.)

Thanks! The robins chew me out every time I use my door, now..

I'm finally done with school, but the employment search hasn't yielded fruit, yet. Hopefully something comes through soon.

haha! howdy sir fotosdenada! those guys don't know how to build nests and they're dumb. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98