You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Georgia State Railroad Museum

in #photography5 years ago

That looks like a fun place to explore! Cool photos, too, especially the steam billowing out of that engine. It's kind of amazing to think that we used steam as a primary source of power for so many years. Actually, have you ever taken the Badger across Lake Michigan? That ship was steem powered, but eventually got converted to diesel.

I'm glad you were able to get around and over the tracks on the scooter. Some of those places aren't very accessible.

Sort:  

I loved everything about Savannah and when Jim was by my side he made certain that I could go anywhere I could possibly wish to go! Man, I miss him.
I have never crossed the lake on the ferry. I've been on overnight ferrys in Greece and many shorter ferry trips, but never that one. Maybe because I love the drive around the lake!
130 years ago there were steemer boats on the river here and you could board in town and they would take you up river. Too bad there is no public transportation here these days!

The Mississippi River used to have quite the fleet of steam-powered paddle boats, too. That would have been something to see!

Ive stood on the banks and watched the Mississippi Queen go up river, and as the calliope music played I was whisked away to that earlier time. 🎶

The guy I took trombone lessons from as a kid used to play on steamboats. That would have been the 30's and 40's. He was in his 90's when I knew him.

Cool! I bet he had stories to tell!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39