You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Timeless Havana

in #photography5 years ago

Nice shots! 30 photos does seem like very few for such a photogenic place, though!

It would be fascinating to see all of those old vehicles on the roads. Because of the trade embargo, the island hasn't been able to get up-dated automobiles. That's also why they are so expensive. Apparently, their mechanics are like miracle workers, too.

Were you able to talk to the cabby at all? From what I hear, most people on the island have higher university degrees. Education is free. It isn't uncommon for a cabby to have a degree in orthopedics or engineering.

I would love to see La Habana but, as you know, my government doesn't keen on the idea. Maybe we'll be back on the road to normalizing relations after the next election...

Sort:  

A lot of the cab drivers that we met were either doctors or engineers, which understandable if you think about the numbers. A taxi driver usually earns the monthly salary (if not more) of a doctor in just one day. In a way, it's similar to my country where medical workers are underpaid, but that's a whole different topic :)

Do you have a Spanish citizenship? If you happen to move back to Spain one day, then you could easily visit Cuba. I don't think there are any restrictions if you travel from Europe.

Sorry about the delayed response. I only have USA citizenship, which makes going back to Spain very difficult. I've been trying to find a way back for years, without much luck. Some of my Spanish friends went to Cuba and it looked amazing from the photos.

With China, I believe University education is free. There are only so many openings for professionals, so it's not uncommon to have a barber with a PhD. Cuba has one of the most educated populations, if not the highest.

The closest I've gotten was when I got to chat with one of Fidel Castro's go-to interpreters. That was fascinating, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63707.00
ETH 2746.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64