Plummer House (Orignal B&W Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Well, folks, it was an odd and long weekend. I drove back to Rochester on Thursday, because I had a senior photo shoot scheduled, and though I might make it back in time to see the craziness. The "President" was in Rochester, MN (USA), and I had hoped to get some photojournalism shots of protesters and their signs, but it wasn't even possible to get to the protest! The highway was blocked with snowplows and traffic was backed up everywhere! I headed to my parents house to pet the pooch and have a beer, instead, which was more fun anyway.

We had considered the Plummer House as a venue for the photo shoot, so I headed up to its perch above the valley in which Rochester sits to do a little scouting. It's always good t o look for good places to shoot, paying attention to lighting and background, beforehand.

MM201820181005-EOS_7264.jpgFlower Pedistal or Grave Marker?

We decided to start at Quarry Hill, instead. I know that park very well, so it worked out fine. However, after a half dozen spots, we decided to, indeed, head up to the Plummer house...

... and found it reserved for a private wedding!

MM201820181005-EOS_7266.jpgClient: Invisible Man

It's always good to have a backup plan, and possibly a backup backup plan. Unable to take shots at the Plummer House, we headed downtown to the Heritage House and Rochester's little Central Park.

As for the Plummer House, it's a great place to do some outdoor portraiture. There are beautiful old trees, an old stone water tower that looks like a wizard's tower, and amazing gardens. Even after flower season is done, there are great photo locations.

MM201820181005-EOS_7261.jpgIt's empty. Not a creeper!

And, of course, there's a lamp! The inspiration for this one might have been an acorn!

MM201820181005-EOS_7270.jpgAcorn-thing-on-a-stick

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

I love acorn!!! lol Love Love your black n whites! Any chance you could get your photo subjects to ok you posting the photos you took of them? I'd love to see what you do with people :)
How is Vern doing? Is your Jeep fixed yet?

I'm sure they wouldn't let me this time. The mom didn't even post them on Facebook, but she is having some prints and possibly a canvas made. He was a fun subject and looked like a young David Tenant. I totally got a Doctor Who shot :-)

Vern says he's doing well, thanks for asking, and do you have table scraps? The Jeep was supposed to be done today, but alass. Hopefully tomorrow.

Anything fun going on up in your neck of the woods?

Too awesome with a fun subject to photograph! When we are cruising, I love to watch how the pros pose people :)

As for my neck of the woods, my hubby was stuck in the middle of nowhere for 2 days by himself because the chopper wouldn't start. I think we have alllll seen the movie "The Revenant" lol.

Ouch! Two days, eh? That had to have been fun... Did anyone play the intro to dueling banjos for him? mwhahahaha

Haaaaaa I never thought of that! I won’t miss that opportunity next time lol

muy buenas esas fotos y precioso sitio :) como fue con el jeep? todo en orden ya? espero k si! ;)

Gracias :-) Me dicen que está puesto el motor pero quieren estar completamente seguros de que todo está conectado y no sale líquidos de ninguna parte. También van a dar unas vueltas por la ciudad con ella para averiguar si funcione todo. Probablemente están pasando por el campo para divertirse jijiji

ajjajaj si yo tuviera un Jeep también lo probaría así jajaj :D

Trump was in MN? I miss out by not watching the news, but somehow I'm OK with that! Great photos! My daughter was on a committee that chose the design for a new bridge here in town and we just drove across that the other day and she pointed out the acorn lamps on the bridge, so I think your term is absolutely correct!

That sounds like fun, choosing the bridge! Yeah, Trump made a mess of Rochester. Local law enforcement had roads blocked off and it was impossible to get to the protests, where weren't even that close to the Civic Center where he was speaking. I sort of wonder if it wasn't an effort to make the protest seem smaller than it oterwise might have grown to be. I was hoping to get there for some photos of protesters and signs. A few years ago, I got a nice shot of some nurses on strike, but it's not quite the same.

I'd be happy to protest!
She had fun on that committee and learned a lot and is quite proud of the part that she played in getting a beautiful bridge for the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00