Old Pickwick Mill (Original B&W Photography)

in #photography6 years ago

Howdy!

Earlier this summer, I visited the Wapsipinicon Mill in Independence, Iowa, which was a beautiful, historic grain mill. Hearing about another historic grain mill from the same era, here in Minnesota, I set off to see what there was to see.

MNM18072720180727-EOS_5151.jpg
Limited Parking
The Pickwick Mill, located in a village of the same name, is about ten miles from Winona, MN. I will be focusing on the photography, but information about the mill's history can be found at the link at the end.

MNM18072720180727-EOS_5106.jpg
Im "press" ive!
Unlike the Wapsipinicon Mill, Pickwick has been fully restored and is functional. While it wasn't running on my visit, they do, occasionally, link up the machinery to the waterwheel, powering the myriad of gears, belts, and chains that once processed local grains.

MNM18072720180727-EOS_5110.jpg
Looking Up
Most, if not all of the original machines are still present. The gears, chains, and wooden structures make a fascinating subject for photography. It is a little dim inside, and I found myself wishing I'd brought a tripod in. There were various items to brace against for longer exposures, though.

MNM18072720180727-EOS_5140.jpg
What Goes Where?
I would love to have seen this bit of the mill in motion. This feat of mechanical engineering was designed and constructed with paper and pencils. Calculating gear ratios and angular velocities, torque, and power output by hand on this scale would have been a daunting task!

MNM18072720180727-EOS_5144.jpg
King of the Gears
This was the largest gear in the mill by far. it had to have been over eight feet across!

MNM18072720180727-EOS_5120.jpg
Bird Target Practice?
In its era, this mill would have most likely been lit by natural light coming through the many large windows. During the restoration, electrical cable was run and some overhead lighting installed, but the windows till provide the bulk of the light.

MNM18072720180727-EOS_5117.jpg
Big Tank
The upper levels of the mill house some odds and ends from milling history in the area, like this huge metal funnel. It was likely where the unprocessed grain entered the mill at some point in its history.

MNM18072720180727-EOS_5098.jpg
Dam!
I don't do much with video, mostly due to my photography equipment's limitations and a lack of editing software, but wanted to share these two.


This is where the shaft from the waterwheel comes into the mill. Nothing was hooked up today, but it still turned a couple wheels.


The waterwheel is rather fascinating. I hadn't seen one with gear teeth like this one, before.

After about an hour at the mill, it was time for lunch and a little fun at nearby Trempealeau Wildlife Area...

For more information about the mill and its history, head to their website.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @fotosdenada, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Your photographs remind me of mills in the south of England @fotosdenada. I love the picture of the window. I have a fascination with them. 😊

Thanks! The windows caught my attention right away and the lighting was perfect.

Excursions like this are of great value i think and never loss of time.

I enjoy seeing and photographing new places and historical buildings are usually great for both :-)

I love mill's with waterwheels. It's so amazing how a waterwheel could power the machinery. The video is pretty cool of the water moving it.. Looks like such a pretty place.

I was surprised. For such a small village, it was very well maintained and pretty. The mill is the only real draw, but it's close enough to Winona.

some really awesome shots of the gears and machinery inside, they just look like they have a rich history behind them. I always enjoy exploring the history of old places like that, nice that this one was restored and brought back to life.

Thanks. They had everything hooked up and running about a week ago. I wish I had known, so I could have gone and gotten videos and long exposures. It was still fascinating, even with the drive shaft disconnected.

Only you could give a shutdown mill life :) I'm not sure if the window or dam is my favorite. I do wonder at times if my local birds high 5 each other when they use my 2nd story windows for target practice, lol.

I loved your videos too! They were short and gave extra life to your post!

If you don't mind me asking, what site do you use for your photos? I'm wondering how you go from RAW to steemit sizing?

I process my photos in Adobe Lightroom 4.0 (old version) and export slightly sized-down JPEG fiiles from there. It's a great program for cataloging photos, as well, and automaticlly applies my watermark.

Thanks!!

Thanks! It is a really pretty place. What they really need is some old-fashioned homemade ice cream for sale right next door!

Wow! Vaya coleccion buena has hecho! 😊🙃👍

¡Gracias! Fue un sitio interesante.

Eso me ha parecido 😊👍 me gustan mucho esas maquinas antiguas pero amigo... La de la ventana es increible a pesar de estar los cristales tan sucios jajajaj enhorabuena!

Bueno, a mi también me ha gustado la ventana y también la foto de ayer más. La foto de la ventana está genial en colores, pero las demás quedaron mejor en blanco y negro. La comparto mañana, cuando tengo ratón y teclado. No la tengo en el móvil.

Ahh claro! Es la misma ventanaa jajaj no me habia dado cuenta! 😃 genial, tiene que molar mucho 😊👍

Great photo.
Really nice composition, situation and tones.
nice waterwheel video :))

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82